2006 Football Award Recipients

Vandal coaches and players picked their 2006 team award recipients, and among them was junior linebacker JO ARTIS RATTI, who was named the Hec Edmondson Most Inspirational Player (as voted by his teammates) for 2006. Congratulations to all of Idaho's award winners.

Moscow, ID - This team has shown remarkable grit despite numerous setbacks, and the players highlighted below are among the best. Congratulations to all of this year's recipients, honored at the 2006 Fall Sports awards banquet last week.

A special congrats goes out to center Adam Korby. The redshirt sophomore has been a 2-year starter at Idaho. He was named the team's offensive scout team player of the year in 2004 (his redshirt year). As a redshirt freshman he started all 11 games for Idaho (the only lineman to do so) and won the team's Ironman Award. This year he repeats as the team's Ironman Award recipient, having started all 12 games and playing virtually every single offensive down for the Vandals. He'll lead an offensive line in 2007 that boasts four returners with starting experience.

Cornerback Stanley Franks, who led the nation in interceptions this season, was unable to attend the banquet because he was hosting recruits instead, but otherwise the turnout was exceptional.

Below is the complete list of recipients. Again, congratulations to everyone on this list, and for those returning next fall, best of luck in 2007.

Junior inside linebacker David Vobora led the nation in solo tackles this season.
John Friesz Most Valuable Player Award:
David Vobora

Captains Awards:
Offense: Jade Tadvick
Defense: David Vobora

Scout Team Player of the Year:
Offense: Luke Conklin
Defense: Andrew Blevins

Special Teams Player of the Year:
Robert Davis

Hec Edmundson Most Inspirational Player:
Jo Artis Ratti

Senior cornerback Kiel McDonald stepped up bigtime in his one season at Idaho, taking over starting CB duties when starter Reggie Jones went down with an injury.
Wayne Anderson Coaches Award:
Luke Smith-Anderson

Wayne Walker Ironman Award:
Adam Korby (2nd year in a row!)

Offensive Player of the Year:
Wendell Octave

Defensive Player of the Year:
Stanley Franks

Eric McMillan Award:
Kiel McDonald

Kathy Clark Scholar Athlete Award:
Jayson Bird

ALL Vandals Top Stories