Korby Named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

For the third year in a row, University of Idaho center ADAM KORBY - a Second Team All-WAC selection in 2007 - has been named to the preseason Rimington Trophy Watch List. The senior-to-be hasn't missed a single game for the Vandals in three years as the starter, and sets his sites on the 2008 season. Joining Korby are three other candidates from the Western Athletic Conference.

Below is an OFFICIAL press release from the Rimington Trophy committee announcing the spring 2008 Watch List for the highest honor given to a college center. For the third consecutive year Idaho senior-to-be Adam Korby has been named to this list - an impressive accomplishment for the three-year starter who hasn't missed a game, or a start, in three years at Idaho.

Named the Offensive Team Captain last year, and AGAIN for 2008, and coming on the heels of his Second Team All-WAC selection last year, Korby's senior season is shaping up to be another outstanding campaign.

Of 42 candidates on the complete Watch List, the Western Athleric Conference is represented by a total of FOUR centers. Joining Korby is junior John Estes (Hawaii), senior Dominic Green (Nevada), and senior Ryan Tonnemacher (Utah State). Seven representatives are named from the Big-12, six from the PAC-10, and five each from the ACC and SEC.

Below is the complete release.

Rimington Trophy


Rimington Trophy Releases 2008 Spring Watch List

NEW YORK CITY (May 7, 2008) - The Rimington Trophy committee has released its 2008 Spring Watch List. The list includes two finalists from the 2007 Watch List, as well as the 2007 winner of the Rimington Trophy, Arkansas' Jonathan Luigs. The Trophy has not had a repeat winner in its history.

In all, there are 42 players on the Watch List. A total of seven players represent the Big-12 Conference. The PAC-10 Conference is represented by six players, while the ACC and SEC have five players each on the Watch List.

Listed below are the members of the 2008 Rimington Trophy Spring Watch List.

Alabama, Antoine Caldwell, 6'3", 292, Senior
Arizona, Blake Kerley, 6'2", 285, Junior
Arkansas, Jonathan Luigs, 6'4", 314, Senior
Auburn, Jason Bosley, 6'2", 281, Senior
Baylor, J.D. Walton, 6'3", 302, Junior
California, Alex Mack, 6'5", 316, Senior
Central Michigan, Colin Miller, 6'3", 280, Sophomore
Colorado, Daniel Sanders, 6'3", 325, Senior
Connecticut, Keith Gray, 6'2", 287, Senior
Florida International, Brad Serini, 6'4", 275, Sophomore
Florida State, Ryan McMahon, 6'3", 275, Sophomore
Hawaii, John Estes, 6'2", 290, Junior
Houston, Carl Barnett, 6'3", 285, Junior
Idaho, Adam Korby, 6'2", 292, Senior
Indiana, Alex Perry, 6'7", 292, Sophomore
Kansas, Ryan Cantrell, 6'3", 295, Senior
Kansas State, Jordan Bedore, 6'3", 308, Senior
Louisiana-Lafayette, Chris Fisher, 6'2", 280, Sophomore
Louisville, Eric Wood, 6'4", 309, Senior
LSU, Brett Helms, 6'2", 283, Senior
Maryland, Edwin Williams, 6'2", 315, Senior
Memphis, Philip Beliles, 6'5", 270, Senior
Nevada, Dominic Green, 6'3", 295, Senior
Ohio State, Jim Cordle, 6'4", 297, Junior
Oklahoma, Jon Cooper, 6'2", 289, Senior
Oklahoma State, Andrew Lewis, 6'5", 290, Junior
Penn State, A.Q. Shipley, 6'1", 293, Junior
Rutgers, Ryan Blaszcyk, 6'4", 285, Senior
SMU, Mitch Enright, 6'2", 275, Junior
South Florida, Jake Griffin, 6'4", 307, Senior
Stanford, Alex Fletcher, 6'3", 295, Senior
TCU, Blake Schlueter, 6'3", 272, Senior
Temple, Alex Derenthal, 6'4", 294, Senior
Tennessee, Josh McNeil, 6'4", 280, Junior
Texas, Chris Hall, 6'4", 300, Junior
Troy, Danny Franks, 6'3", 308, Junior
USC, Kristopher O'Dowd, 6'5", 300, Sophomore
Utah State, Ryan Tonnemacher, 6'3", 292, Senior
UTEP, Robby Felix, 6'3", 295, Senior
Washington, Juan Garcia, 6'3", 315, Senior
Washington State, Kenny Alfred, 6'2", 310, Junior
West Virginia, Mike Dent, 6'3", 300, Senior

While more than a dozen All-America football teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy committee uses these four prestigious teams to determine a winner:

- American Football Coaches Association
- Walter Camp Foundation
- The Sporting News
- Football Writers Association of America

Because the selectors of these four All-America teams can place Centers in a "mix" of offensive linemen that includes guards and tackles, their 11-man first teams can often have two Centers. Our policy is to count all players that play primarily the Center position for their respective teams as Centers, even though they may be listed as guards or tackles on the four All-American teams.

The Center with the most first team votes will be determined the winner. If there i! s a tie with first team votes, then the Center with the most second team votes will win. If there is still a tie, the winner will be determined by the Rimington Trophy committee.

The winner will be honored at the Rimington Trophy Presentation banquet at the Rococo Theatre in Lincoln, Nebraska on January 17, 2009.


About the Rimington Trophy

The nine-year old trophy is presented by the Boomer Esiason Foundation. Past recipients include Nebraska's Dominic Raiola, Ohio State's LeCharles Bentley, Miami's Brett Romberg, Virginia Tech's Jake Grove, co-winners Michigan's David Baas and LSU's Ben Wilkerson, Minnesota's Greg Eslinger, West Virginia's Dan Mozes and Arkansas' Jonathan Luigs. Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $1.3 million for the award's benefactor, the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, which is hosted by the Boomer Esiason Foundation that to date has raised over $65 million for CF research.

Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first team All-America Center at Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.

The Rimington Trophy is a fully accredited member of the National College Football Awards Association.


ALL Vandals Top Stories