courtesy Illinois athletics

Illini golf wins 2017 Big Ten Championships

Dylan Meyer wins medalist honors to help lead Illini to eighth Big Ten title in nine years

This certainly doesn't look like a rebuilding year for Illinois men's golf.

The Illini displayed their normal dominance at the Big Ten Championships, winning the three-day, 54-hole tournament by 16 strokes at Five Farms East Course at Baltimore Country Club. Mike Small's program has now won eight of the last nine Big Ten titles, including three straight.

The Illini (11-under par) were the only team to finish under par. Northwestern finished second at 5-over par and Ohio State finished third and 15-over par.

Illini junior Dylan Meyer earned individual medalist honors at 5-under par. He double-bogeyed  the final hole but held on to win by one stroke over Ohio State's Will Grimmer and Northwestern's Ryan Lumsden. An Illini has now shared medalist honors at the Big Ten Championships for seven straight years.

Meyer was one of four Illini to finish in the top-10: junior Nick Hardy (T-6th, 1-under par), sopohomore Edoardo Liparrelli (8th, even par) and freshman Giovanni Tadiotto (T-10th, 2-over par). Freshman Michael Feagles tied for 24th at 7-over par.

Illiniois, which entered the tournament ranked No. 7 in the Golfweek/Sagarin ratings, now awaits its assignment for the NCAA Regionals. The Illini have won four straight NCAA Regional titles.

The five lowest scores from each regional advance to the NCAA Championships, which this year is being held at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill. The Illini have advanced to nine straight NCAA Championships and have advanced to championship match play (final eight) four straight years.

Illini Inquirer Top Stories