Illinois to face Murray State Today

<p>Deron Williams: First-round loss today would ruin the entire season.

Illinois (24-6) has earned an at-large bid to the 2004 NCAA Tournament and received a No. 5 seed in the Atlanta Region. Illinois travels to Columbus, Ohio, where first and second round games will be played at Nationwide Arena on Friday, March 19 and Sunday, March 21. The Illini face No. 12-seeded Murray State, (28-5) the champion of the Ohio Valley Conference, in Friday's first round at 11:25 a.m. Central Time/12:25 p.m. Eastern Time. No. 4 Cincinnati (24-6) will then square off against No. 13 East Tennessee State (27-5), 30 minutes following the conclusion of the Illinois game. The winner of the Illinois/Murray State game will play the winner of the Cincinnati/East Tennessee State game in the second round on Sunday at 1:30 p.m. CT/2:30 p.m. ET.

Four teams from the St. Louis Region have also been placed in Columbus for first and second round games. No. 1 Kentucky (26-4) will play the winner of No. 16 Lehigh (20-10)/Florida A&M (14-16) on Friday at 6:10 p.m. CT/7:10 p.m. ET, followed by No. 8 Washington (19-11) vs. No. 9 Alabama-Birmingham (20-9). The winners will then play in the second round on Sunday 30 minutes following the Illinois/Murray State vs. Cincinnati/East Tennessee State game.

Story courtesy of the U of I SID

Illini Inquirer Top Stories