Brock to Sign With Illini

<p>CHAMPAIGN, ILL -- University of Illinois men's basketball coach Bruce Weber announced today that Chicago Simeon All-Stater Calvin Brock signed a national letter of intent to play for the Fighting Illini.

Brock, a 6-foot-5-inch, 180-pound swing player, is the second high school senior to sign a letter of intent with the Illini this year. He joins Shaun Pruitt (6-9, F., West Aurora HS) who signed with Illinois in November.

"We are very pleased to find someone as talented and versatile as Calvin Brock in the late signing period," Weber said. "The thing we like best about Calvin is that he has a great upside. He kind of came out of nowhere in recruiting circles and at the end had schools from all over the country calling. Calvin comes from a high school program with a long connection to the University of Illinois and played under a great coach in Bob Hambric, who instills tremendous discipline in his program and prepares his players for college basketball. This signing helps us continue to make inroads in the Chicago area as Calvin was the Sun-Times Player of the Year and is also a great student as a member of the Public League All-Academic team."

Brock earned first-team All-State honors by the Associated Press, Chicago Sun-Times, IBCA, Chicago Tribune and Champaign-Urbana News-Gazette after averaging 24 points, 11 rebounds, four assists, five blocks and three steals a game for the Wolverines under Hambric. He was named the Chicago Sun-Times Area Player of the Year and was rated a consensus Top-100 player by recruiting services. Brock helped Simeon to a record of 26-5 and the Elite Eight of the 2004 Class AA state tournament. A top student, Brock was named to the Chicago Public League All-Academic team and has plans to pursue engineering at the University of Illinois.

Brock played in the EA Sports Roundball Classic in Chicago and the Wendy's All-Star Shootout game between high school stars from Chicago and New York. He joins a list of Simeon alums to attend Illinois that includes Nick Anderson, all-time scoring leader Deon Thomas, Bryant Notree, Ervin Small and Kevin Turner. Anderson and Thomas also earned Sun-Times Player-of-the-Year honors at Simeon.

Story provided by the U of I SID office

Illini Inquirer Top Stories