Illini look for share of Big Ten title tonight

Illinois owns a 118-34 lead in the all-time series, including 58-13 in games played at Champaign. The Illini have won 37 of the last 41 meetings, including 10 of the last 11. Illinois has beaten Northwestern three straight times at the Assembly Hall, with the last Wildcat victory in Champaign coming Jan. 9, 1999. Illinois defeated the Wildcats, 78-66, at Evanston on Jan. 15.

Illinois is the only remaining NCAA Div. I team in the country to boast a perfect record, and with 27 victories has the most wins in the nation.

Illinois sits atop the NCAA Div. I charts with two winning streaks. The Illini's 27-game winning streak is the longest winning streak in the nation, and Illinois' 14-game road winning streak is the longest road winning streak in the nation. Illinois won its last six road games last year and has won its first eight road games this season. The Illini have one more road game remaining on this year's schedule, at Ohio State on March 6.

With its 27 victories, Illinois has tied its second-winningest season in school history in terms of total wins. Illinois also won 27 games during the 2000-01 season, finishing with a record of 27-8. The Illini school record for wins in a season is 31, set by the 1988-89 squad, which finished 31-5. Following are the winningest seasons in school history, in terms of total wins.

Illinois' 23-game conference winning streak ranks third in Big Ten history and is the longest since Indiana won a league-record 37 straight Big Ten games from Dec. 27, 1975 through Jan. 7, 1978. Ranking second on the list is Ohio State's 27-game Big Ten winning streak from March 5, 1960 through Feb. 26, 1962.

Illinois has also set a school record with its current streak of 13 straight Big Ten road victories - its final six conference away games last season and its first seven this season. This broke the previous school-record streak of eight straight Big Ten road wins, which happened twice. The Illini won eight straight conference road games from Feb. 21, 1914 through Feb. 9, 1916 and again from Feb. 5, 1951 through Feb. 2, 1952.

ESPN - Local: Wayne Larrivee, play-by-play; Shon Morris, expert analyst.

Illini Sports Network - 47 stations: Brian Barnhart, play-by-play; Stephen Bardo, expert analyst; and, Loren Tate pregame/halftime/ postgame interviews.

Information provided by the University of Illinois athletics.

Illini Inquirer Top Stories