Dee Brown Named Consensus All Big Ten

Illinois' Dee Brown was named a consensus All Big Ten First Team member on Tuesday morning, while his teammate James Augustine was honored by the coaches as being a member of the All Big Ten First Team. Other Illini receiving nods from the Big Ten were Jamar Smith (Freshman Team) and Brian Randle (Defensive Team).

While Dee Brown was not able to repeat as Big Ten Player of the Year, he was a consensus First Teamer for the second straight season. Ohio State's Terence Dials walked away with the Big Ten Player of the Year by the coaches and the media while his coach Thad Matta was named Coach of the Year by the media.

James Augustine joined his teammate on the All Big Ten First Team by the Coaches, but was not graced with that honor in the media team, as he was just on the second team. On the media's ballot Michigan Point Guard Daniel Horton was a member of the first team instead of Augustine.

Illinois' Brian Randle did not garner the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year Award, but he was honored by being named as one of the five members of the Inaugural All-Defensive Team as named by the Big Ten coaches. Iowa's Erik Hansen was named the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year.

Illinois Freshman Sharp-Shooter Jamar Smith was also honored as a member of the Big Ten's All-Freshman team. Penn State's Jamelle Cornley was named the Freshman of the Year.

For the full team listing, please see the Big Ten press release.

Illini Inquirer Top Stories