J Leman Makes The Cut

Newport Beach, Ca. - University of Illinois' standout senior linebacker J Leman has been named a quarterfinalist for the annual Lott Trophy. Leman, who leads the Big Ten in tackles and has been named to four midseason All-American teams, is listed as one of 17 players up for the fourth-year national award.

The Lott Trophy is named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott and goes to the outstanding college defensive player of the year who has had the biggest IMPACT on his team both on and off the field. IMPACT stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity. It represents the only college football trophy to give equal weight to personal character as well as athletic performance.

Sponsored by the The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the Lott Trophy has donated nearly $300,000 to various charities throughout the United States in just three years.

The previous winners have been David Pollack of Georgia in 2004, DeMeco Ryans of Alabama in 2005 and Daymeion Hughes of Cal in 2006.

The four finalists will be flown to Newport Beach, Ca. for the banquet. The university of the winner will receive $25,000 for its general scholarship fund while the three universities of the runner-ups will receive $5,000 each for their general scholarship fund.

The Dec. 9 black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club, already sold out for the fourth consecutive year, will be televised live by Fox Sports. Hall of Famer Merlin Olsen will receive The Lott Trophy Lifetime IMPACT Award. There will also be a video tribute to the late Bill Walsh, a founding member of the Board.


Antoine Cason (Arizona defensive back) Jordon Dizon (Colorado linebacker) Glenn Dorsey (LSU defensive tackle) Sedrick Ellis (USC defensive tackle) Nic Harris (Oklahoma defensive back) Derrick Harvey (Florida defensive end) Jonathan Hefney (Tennessee defensive back) Cody Kase (New Mexico linebacker Nick Larkin (Boston College defensive lineman) James Laurinaitis (Ohio State linebacker) J. Leman (Illinois linebacker) Chris Long (Virginia defensive end) Dwight Lowery (San Jose State defensive back) Ben Moffitt (South Florida linebacker) Keith Rivers (USC linebacker) Wesley Woodyard (Kentucky linebacker) Tom Zbikowski (Notre Dame safety)

Illini Inquirer Top Stories