DeMuth finalist for Senior CLASS Award

Indiana University's Dustin DeMuth, a senior from LaPorte, Ind., has been named one of the 10 finalists for the national Senior CLASS Award, it was announced Wednesday. Voting to determine the winner of the award will go through June 9. Here is all the information on the story.

Dustin DeMuth added a major honor away from the field today when he was selected as one of 10 finalists for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award for college baseball.

Joining DeMuth on the list of finalists were Tim Colwell, North Dakota State; Matt Hicks, Louisiana; Kevin Courtney, Stony Brook; Andrew Morales, UC Irvine; Mark Payton, Texas; Clinton Freeman, East Tennessee State; A.J. Salcines, Miami (Fla.); Jeff Gardner, Louisville and Ryan Thompson, Campbell.

The following is a release that was put out today by Indiana media relations detailing the voting process that will take place through June 9. The winner will be announced during the College World Series in June.

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. - Indiana senior Dustin DeMuth was one of Ten NCAA® baseball student-athletes who excel both on and off the diamond and were selected as finalists today for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate baseball.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 candidates announced in March. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to VOTE ONLINE at Senior CLASS award website through June 9.

Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches' votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 College World Series® in June. For more information on all the finalists, visit Top Stories