IU baseball sweeps B1G awards

Indiana baseball picked up the Big Ten player of the year award with Sam Travis, the pitcher of the year with Joey DeNato and coach of the year with Tracy Smith. Read on to find out all of the other IU honorees, too.

The Indiana baseball team raced through the conference season winning the Big Ten title with a record of 21-3.

And Tuesday's announcement from the Big Ten that Indiana had a clean sweep of the end of the year conference awards just speaks more to IU's dominance of the conference.

Sam Travis was named the Big Ten player of the year, Joey DeNato is the pitcher of the year and Tracy Smith is coach of the year, the conference announced Tuesday.

In all, a total of eight Indiana players were honored as first-team all-Big Ten selections. That's eight out of a possible 13.

That list includes Kyle Schwarber at catcher, Travis at first base, Dustin DeMuth at third base, Brad Hartong in one of the outfield spots, Scott Donley at designated hitter, and Christian Morris, Luke Harrison and DeNato at pitcher positions.

Outfielder Will Nolden also earned third team all-Big Ten honors.

Jake Kelzer was named the relief pitcher on the all-freshman team.

Travis is the second Indiana player to earn player of the year honors in the last five years. Alex Dickerson captured the award in 2010. Travis led the Big Ten in conference games this year in runs scored (26), RBI (26), home runs (7) and total bases (66). He was also second in hits (38) and sixth in batting average (.365).

DeNato is IU's second winner of the pitcher of the year award in as many years. Last year the honor went to Aaron Slegers. In conference play this season, DeNato ranked first in wins (7), third in strikeouts (41), and fourth in both innings pitched (56.1) and ERA (1.76).

DeNato was the ace of the IU staff that compiled a 1.53 ERA as a team. That's the lowest in conference play in nearly 50 years. It's the lowest since Minnesota had a staff ERA of 0.99 in 1966.

For Smith, it's his second consecutive Big Ten coach of the year honor.

Indiana opens plays in the B1G Tournament Wednesday when the top-seeded Hoosiers face No. 8 Iowa at 6 p.m. ET. The game will be televised on the Big Ten Network.

Peegs.com Top Stories