Murphy national finalist for Academic honor

Indiana senior safety Mark Murphy has been named a finalist and national scholar athlete and will be honored in New York on Dec. 9. He's receives an $18,000 post-graduate scholarship and could be named the scholar athlete of the year at that banquet.

Indiana senior safety Mark Murphy is one 17 players nationally to be honored as a National Scholar Athlete. He will be honored in New York on Dec. 9 and could be named the best scholar athlete in the nation at that time.

Here is the complete release from IU media relations on Murphy and his honor.

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana senior safety Mark Murphy is one of 17 recipients of the National Football Foundation’s (NFF) National Scholar-Athlete Award, presented by Fidelity Investments®, the NFF & College Hall of Fame announced Thursday morning. The honorees also comprise the list of finalists for the 2014 William V. Campbell Trophy, presented by Fidelity Investments and prominently displayed at its official home inside the New York Athletic Club.

The Campbell Trophy, which is celebrating its 25th Anniversary in 2014, recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation, and it will be presented live to one member of the class on Dec. 9 during the 57th NFF Annual Awards Dinner.

Each member of the 2014 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class will travel to New York City to be honored Dec. 9 during the 57th NFF Annual Awards Dinner at the Waldorf Astoria where their accomplishments will be highlighted in front of one of the most powerful audiences in all of sports. They each will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship, and one member of the class will also be announced live at the event as the 25th recipient of the William V. Campbell Trophy, which recognizes an individual as the absolute best scholar-athlete in the nation. The recipient of the Campbell Trophy will also be honored at the NFF Board of Directors meeting and at a reception hosted by the New York Athletic Club on Wednesday, Dec. 10.

“We are extremely proud to announce this year’s National Scholar-Athlete Class,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell. “These young men have an unrelenting commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives, and they represent all that is right in college football. The members serve as living examples of our mission of building leaders through football, and they create an exceptionally worthy pool of candidates for the Campbell Trophy.”

Murphy is IU’s fifth National Scholar-Athlete, joining Ben Chappell (2010), Kevin Speer (1980), Charles Thomson (1971) and Harry Gonso (1969).

An informatics major with a 3.85 grade point average, Murphy is one of 30 finalists for the Senior CLASS Award and was a candidate for the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team®. He became the ninth Hoosier all-time to earn Capital One Academic All-America honors (first team) last season.

The Akron, Ohio, native received IU’s 2013 Jack D. Tichenor Award, presented annually to the male Indiana student-athlete across all sports with the highest GPA, and football’s 2013 Scholastic Achievement Award. During his time in Bloomington, Murphy has worked with the Boys & Girls Club, Jill’s House, Read Across America, Hoosiers Outrun Cancer and Fellowship of Christian Athletes.

Murphy is the Hoosiers active leader with 257 tackles and 158 solo stops in his career. In six starts this year, he owns 27 tackles, 2.5 tackles for loss and one interception. Murphy was named IU’s Defensive Player of the Week following the team’s win over No. 18 Missouri.

Named in honor of Bill Campbell (the chairman of Intuit, a former player and head coach at Columbia University, and the 2004 recipient of the NFF’s Gold Medal), the award comes with a 25-pound bronze trophy and a $7,000 increase in postgraduate funds for a total scholarship of $25,000. A total distribution of $300,000 in scholarships will be awarded that evening, pushing the program’s all-time distributions to more than $10.7 million.

“Jack Ford and the NFF Awards Committee did an excellent job in selecting this year’s National Scholar-Athletes,” said NFF Chairman Archie Manning, whose sons Peyton (Campbell winner) and Eli were NFF National Scholar-Athletes in 1997 and 2003, respectively. “Selected from an impressive group of semifinalists, they should be extremely proud of their accomplishments, as they have undoubtedly distinguished themselves as some of the best student-athletes in the country. Each of these men is also a leader in his respective community, and we know that they have only begun to reach their potential.”

Daily Feature: Prediction Time

Daily Feature: Scouting the Opponent

Depth Chart Top Stories