Coleman is Maxwell Award semifinalist

Tevin Coleman, who leads the nation in rushing yards per game and has gained 1,300 yards this season, has been named one of the 20 finalists for the Maxwell Award, given annually to the college football player of the year.

Tevin Coleman, who ranks first nationally in rushing yards per game at 162.5, has been named one of the 20 semifinalists for the 78th Maxwell Award which is given to the college football player of the year.

With four games to play, Coleman has rushed for 1,300 yards which ranks sixth all-time for one season in IU history. The school record is 1,805 set by Vaughn Dunbar in 1991. At his current pace, Coleman in on track to gain 1,950 yards. He has rushed for 100 yards or more in 10 consecutive games including all eight this season.

He is the only running back in the nation to gain over 100 yards in every game this season.

Here is the release put out by IU media relations announcing Coleman’s Maxwell Award semifinalist status.

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana running back Tevin Coleman is one of 20 semifinalists for the 78th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year, Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced Monday morning. The candidates were selected by the Maxwell Football Club National Selection Committee.

Coleman is first nationally in rushing yards per game (162.5), rushing yards per carry (8.02, min. 150) and yards from scrimmage per game (180.0), second in all-purpose yards per game (180.0), third in rushing yards (1,300) and yards from scrimmage (1,440), fourth in all-purpose yards (1,440), tied for 10th in rushing touchdowns (11) and tied for 14th in total scores (11).

The junior is on pace to rush for 1,950 yards, which would break Vaughn Dunbar’s school record of 1,805 set back in 1991. Coleman is currently sixth in program history with his 1,300 yards.

He has recorded 10 straight 100-yard games, the longest streak in the nation and in program history. Coleman’s streak is tied for the 12th-longest since 1996 and is the longest for a Big Ten running back since Wisconsin’s John Clay had 10 (2009-10). He is the only running back in the country to rush for 100 yards in each game this season.

The Tinley Park, Ill., native’s average of 162.5 rushing yards per game ranks higher than 61 of the 125 FBS teams. Coleman shares the national lead with eight 100-yard games, is tied for third with four 150-yarders and is tied for second with two 200-yarders.

Additionally, he tops the country in 30- (6) and 40- (5), is tied for first in 20- (7) and 60- (3), and is tied for second in 50- (3) and 70-yard (2) TD runs.

The Maxwell Award winner will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, which will be broadcast on ESPN on December 11, 2014. Three finalists will be announced on Nov. 24, 2014 and a second round of voting will take place at that time. The formal presentation of the award will be made at the Maxwell Football Club’s 78th Awards Gala on Friday, March 13, 2014 at the Tropicana Resort & Casino in Atlantic City, New Jersey.

Semifinalist voting will begin on Thursday, Nov. 6 and close on Sunday, Nov. 23. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.

Link to Message Board

Coverage Central

Analysis: Can IU win another game?

Diamont struggles against Wolverines Top Stories