Coleman named MVP at IU Football Banquet

Tevin Coleman earned MVP honors at the Indiana football team banquet that was held Friday night in Bloomington. Here is a list of all the award winners.

Tevin Coleman was named Indiana’s Most Valuable Player at the IU football banquet on Friday evening.

Here is the release put out by IU media relations on what players took home the awards.

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Junior running back Tevin Coleman was named the 2014 Anthony Thompson Most Valuable Player at the Indiana football banquet on Friday evening. Coleman, offensive lineman Collin Rahrig, defensive lineman Bobby Richardson and wide receiver Shane Wynn were honored as the 2014 team captains. Head coach Kevin Wilson also recognized the team's seniors and handed out several team awards inside the Henke Hall of Champions.

Coleman earned a spot as a first team member of the Walter Camp Football Foundation's 125th All-America Team in addition to first team accolades from ESPN, CBS Sports, USA Today and

One of three finalists for the Doak Walker Award, he became the 18th player in FBS history to reach 2,000 rushing yards in a single season with his 130-yard effort in the team's 23-16 Old Oaken Bucket victory over Purdue. He ranks 15th on the all-time list and tops the school's list with 2,036 yards.

A first team All-Big Ten selection, Coleman (264 attempts) became the fourth-fastest rusher to reach 2,000 behind Melvin Gordon (241), Larry Johnson (251) and Mike Rozier (258), besting Barry Sanders (268). He is just the third Big Ten rusher to reach the milestone in the regular season, joining Gordon and Larry Johnson (2002). Coleman's 7.5 yards per carry is the fifth-highest among the 18 2,000-yard rushers.

He is second nationally in rushing yards (2,036), rushing yards per game (169.7), all-purpose yards per game (181.4) and yards from scrimmage per game (181.4), third in all-purpose yards (2,177) and yards from scrimmage (2,177), fifth in rushing yards per carry (7.54), tied for 15th in rushing touchdowns (15) and tied for 18th in total touchdowns (15) this season.

On the Hoosiers single-season lists, Coleman is first with 2,036 rushing yards, 7.5 yards per rush and four 200-yard games, tied for first with 11 100-yard games, six 150-yard games and one 300-yard game, tied for second with one 250-yard game, fourth with 2,177 all-purpose yards and 15 rushing touchdowns, sixth with 15 total touchdowns and 270 attempts, and eighth with 90 points.

Below is a list of the Hoosiers 2014 award winners:

Hoosier Iron Award (Outstanding Weight Room Performance): Dan Feeney

Offensive Newcomer of the Year: J-Shun Harris II

Defensive Newcomer of the Year: Tegray Scales

Ted Whereatt "Senior Academic Excellence" Award: Mark Murphy

Ted Verlihay "Mental Attitude" Award: Shane Wynn

Corby Davis Memorial Award (Outstanding Back): Tevin Coleman

Howard Brown "Dedication to IU Football" Award: Collin Rahrig

Chris Dal Sasso Award (Outstanding Lineman): Bobby Richardson

Harold Mauro "Loyalty to IU Football" Award: Tim Bennett, Ralston Evans

Terry P. Cole Award (Old Oaken Bucket Game MVP): T.J. Simmons

Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Tyler Lukens

Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year: Arthur Jones

Outstanding Walk-On Player of the Year: Brandon Grubbe

Special Teams Player of the Year: Matt Dooley

Defensive Teammate of the Year: David Cooper

Offensive Teammate of the Year:D'Angelo Roberts

Anthony Thompson Most Valuable Player: Tevin Coleman

Team Captains: Tevin Coleman, Collin Rahrig, Bobby Richardson, Shane Wynn


WR Hawkins will transfer to IU

Coleman not named Heisman finalist

Murphy named Academic All-American Top Stories