USA Today

Kansas-IU game moved to larger arena setting

Indiana's season opener against Kansas in Honolulu will now be played in a much bigger setting.

Announcement today between participating universities and ESPN involving the November 11th Armed Forces Classic


2016 ARMED FORCES CLASSIC TO BE PLAYED AT STAN SHERIFF CENTER

Doubleheader Features Arizona vs. Michigan State and Kansas vs. Indiana

The fifth annual Armed Forces Classic – a men’s college basketball doubleheader to  be played Friday, Nov. 11 – will be staged at the Stan Sheriff Center on the University of Hawaii campus in Honolulu. The event was originally scheduled to take place at Joint Base Pearl Harbor-Hickam, but has been relocated to provide basketball fans of both the military and the community an opportunity to see the games up close.

The Armed Forces Classic will be held on Veterans Day – just under a month from the 75th anniversary of the attack on Pearl Harbor – and will pit Arizona vs. Michigan State at 7 pm ET (2 pm HT) and Kansas vs. Indiana at 9 pm ET (4 pm HT) on ESPN. 

“ESPN is honored to continue the tradition of the Armed Forces Classic,” said Clint Overby, ESPN vice president of events. “We celebrate the men and women of the Navy in Hawaii as well as those who serve around the world. We are excited to stage the event in conjunction with the leadership at Pearl Harbor and feel that the basketball venue at the Stan Sheriff Center provides a great backdrop for these great teams.”

Previous Armed Forces Classic games have been played from Ramstein, Germany in 2012 (Connecticut vs. Michigan State), Pyongtaek, South Korea in 2013 (Georgetown vs. Oregon), Aguadilla, Puerto Rico in 2014 (Louisville vs. Minnesota) and Okinawa, Japan in 2015 (Gonzaga vs. Pittsburgh).

Indiana regular season schedule: Click Here


Peegs.com Top Stories