Ames Host Site For '04 NCAA Women's Tournament

AMES, Iowa -- Iowa State will play host to 2004 NCAA Women's Basketball Tournament first- and second-round games, the NCAA Women's Basketball Committee announced Monday. ISU's Hilton Coliseum will host the games, which will be played March 20-23. Iowa State is one of 16 first- and second-round sites selected nationally.

"It is obvious that the committee was sold on the job we have done for NCAA games in the past," said ISU athletics director Bruce Van De Velde. "We have an experienced staff, record-setting fan attendance and a great facility. The national stature of our women's basketball program under coach Bill Fennelly is a major factor."

Iowa State, which hosted the 2002 Midwest Regional, played host to NCAA first and second round games from 1998-2002. Actual dates will be assigned when the bracket is announced in March. Iowa State has set several NCAA Tournament attendance marks since 1998.

"The reputation of Iowa State among NCAA committee members is positive," said ISU associate athletics director Calli Sanders, a former committee member. "The work that people have done in past NCAA Tournament events in Ames has not gone unnoticed."

The NCAA Tournament changed its format last season. Previously, the top 16 seeded teams were awarded first- and second round home games. Starting with the 2003 NCAA Tournament, schools must bid annually and sites for the first- and second-round games are awarded in the summer before the coming academic year.

A list of sites follows:

Site Host

The Pit/Bob King Court (15,983) University of New Mexico Albuquerque, New Mexico

James H. Hilton Coliseum (14,100) Iowa State University Ames, Iowa

Frank Erwin Center (16,079) University of Texas at Austin Austin, Texas

Pete Maravich Assembly Center (13,340) Louisiana State University Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Cassell Coliseum (10,052) Virginia Polytechnic Institute Blacksburg, Virginia and State University

McKenzie Arena (12,000) University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, Tennessee Chattanooga

St. John Arena (13,276) Ohio State University Columbus, Ohio

Cameron Indoor Stadium (9,314) Duke University Durham, North Carolina

Bridgeport Arena at Harbor Yard (8,754) Fairfield University Fairfield, Connecticut

Williams Arena (14,625) University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, Minnesota Twin Cities

Adams Center/Dahlberg Arena (7,321) University of Montana Missoula, Montana

The Liacouras Center (10,206) Temple University Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

The Thunderdome (6,000) University of California, Santa Barbara, California Santa Barbara

Joyce Center (11,418) University of Notre Dame South Bend, Indiana

Tallahassee Leon County Civic Center (11,682) Florida State University Tallahassee, Florida

Wells Fargo Arena (14,141) Arizona State University Tempe, Arizona

AllCyclones Top Stories