That's All She Wrote

Iowa State has filled its allotted scholarships for the 2014 basketball season with Tuesday's signing of Hallice Cooke. Take a step back and recap the Cyclones' successful offseason

Finally, it's safe to go on vacation.

Iowa State announced its signing of Oregon State transfer Hallice Cooke on Tuesday morning via press release, putting an end to a mad-dash spring recruiting period spring, full of Mediterranean surprise and fatiguing transfer speculation. There were something like 300 transfers and many of them, per Twitter, were at one time connected to Iowa State.

There were five scholarships to go around once the 2013-14 season ended in New York City. Here's what's off the books:

  • Melvin Ejim: One of ISU's most accomplished players, should have his No. 3 jersey retired (currently, the plan is for 2014 signee Clayton Custer to wear the number). Finished 25.7 percent of the Cyclones' possessions, took 26.1 percent of their shots, grabbed 18.7 percent of available defensive rebounds, shot 34.6 percent from three.
  • DeAndre Kane: Major success in one season, increased his three-point percentage to 39.8 after toiling in the .200s at Marshall, had the nation's No. 61 assist rate, was a triple-double threat each game, used 27 percent of possessions, took 22.7 percent of shots.
  • Bubu Palo: Former contributor didn't play in 2013-14 after a controversial (to say the least) reinstatement. ISU eligibility has expired; will seek a hardship and try to play somewhere else.
  • Percy Gibson: Reserve post player, announced his transfer.
  • K.J. Bluford: Three-point gunner found minutes hard to come by and transferred by semester.
  • New Scholarship Additions

  • Hallice Cooke: Oregon State transfer committed to Iowa State on May 19 after visiting St. Joseph's and Dayton. Hit over 45 percent of his three-pointers as a frosh with the Beavers. A true shooting guard. Will redshirt this season, per NCAA transfer rules and has three seasons of eligibility following. Scholarship expires after the 2017-18 season.
  • Clayton Custer: Longtime commit and fall signee. Fantastic prep career in Kansas. Will fight for minutes behind Monté Morris but should develop into a very good four-year player. Scholarship expires after the 2017-18 season.
  • Bryce Dejean-Jones: UNLV's leading scorer, will be eligible to play immediately. Likely slots as the starter at two-guard. Used 27.5 percent of the Runnin' Rebels' possessions, the No. 153 mark nationally. Committed to Iowa State on April 6. Scholarship expires after this season.
  • Jameel McKay: Committed to Iowa State last fall, just now added to the scholarship books after paying his own way through the spring. Rim protector will apply for waive to play this fall but most likely won't be eligible until January. Scholarship expires after 2015-16 season.
  • Georgios Tsalmpouris: Low-risk, high-reward for Fred Hoiberg, which offered the Greek 7-footer sight unseen and picked up a commitment May 11. At best, Tsalmpouris develops into a matchup nightmare for opponents given his size and skill. At worst, he's a bench player — and ISU got by OK this season with many non-contributors and dead-weight scholarship slots. Scholarship expires after the 2017-18 season.
  • Bonus!

    Lost in the Dejean-Jones hoopla was the commitment of Iowa Western JUCO forward Darien Williams, a member of the 2015 class who'll enter Ames with three seasons of eligibility after sitting out this upcoming season while rehabbing from injury. Williams will have his scholarship expire after the 2017-18 season.

    Just Missed

    Iowa State hit .666 in official visits this transfer season, reeling in Dejean-Jones and Hallice Cooke while Boston College transfer Ryan Anderson committed to Arizona.

    What's Next?

    At least three scholarships come off the books following next season (2014-15) — Dejean-Jones, Dustin Hogue and Daniel Edozie — and one of those will be filled by Darien Williams, leaving Fred Hoiberg with two openings to play with. Iowa State has set its sights high, targeting Cheick Diallo and Henry Ellenson, but other 2015 candidates include: A.J. Turner, Esa Ahmad, Evan Boudreaux and Malik Dime (JUCO). Of course, that's a very fluid list, and the Cyclones will again be players come transfer season, 2015.

    Discuss in the Forum

    AllCyclones Top Stories