Iowa State's Georges Niang Named Karl Malone Award Winner

Georges Niang has wrapped up his legendary Iowa State career, but he earned some final hardware Friday night in Los Angeles.

Georges Niang gathered with the best players in college basketball Friday night in Los Angeles, and by the time the night was over, he had yet again etched out his own section in Iowa State history.

The four-year starter and two-time All-American was awarded the Karl Malone Award during ESPN’s College Basketball Awards Show on Friday, an award given to college basketball’s top power forward.

“Thinking about Karl Malone all I can think about is the Mailman and what he's done for the game of college basketball,” Niang said after receiving the award. “To get an award with his name on it is a blessing.”

In winning the award, Niang became the first Iowa State player in program history to win an individual postseason award. He was already the first two-time All-American in school history after being a consensus second-teamer. 

During his senior season at Iowa State, Niang averaged 20.5 points, 6.2 rebounds and 3.3 assists per game en route to become the first player in school history to play in four NCAA tournaments. There, Niang averaged 28.7 points per game during March Madness, leading the Cyclones to their fifth Sweet 16.

Niang finished his career ranked second all-time in Iowa State history in scoring.


AllCyclones Top Stories