Berryman Earns Team MVP Award

AMES, Iowa -- Iowa State defensive end Jason Berryman, the AP Big 12 Conference defensive newcomer of the year and the co-freshman defensive player of the year by the league's coaches, was named the school's first recipient of the Pete Taylor MVP Award at the team's banquet Sunday at the Starlite Village.

The award is named for the 33-year voice of the Cyclones who passed away in March. The honor was bestowed on the first-year Cyclone by a vote of his teammates.

Berryman, a true freshman who entered the season-opener against Northern Iowa after a season-ending injury to Tyson Smith, made 86 tackles in the Cyclones' final six games and finished second on the team with 115 stops. He was also awarded the Durwood "Dury" Moss Award as the team's outstanding newcomer, the Al and Dean Knudson Award as the Cyclones' outstanding defensive player and the Arthur Floyd Scott Award as the team's outstanding defensive lineman.

Lane Danielsen, who finished his career as Iowa State's all-time leader in receptions (163) and receiving yards (2,690), was selected as the recipient of the Ray Scott Award as ISU's outstanding offensive player. The Dike native was also recognized as the winner of the Jim Doran Award as the Cyclones' outstanding special teams player.

Safety JaMaine Billups and cornerback Ellis Hobbs won the Ennis Haywood Award from the team's coaches for effort in games, practice and off the field on behalf of ISU football. Jack Whitver of Grinnell, who finished eighth on the all-time ISU career reception list with 96 catches, was presented the Bill Dailey Award as a player who made a great contribution to the team with little public recognition. Linebackers Chris Campbell of Iowa City and Boyd Viers of Omaha were recognized for academic achievement. All-Big 12 and Academic All-American defensive tackle Jordan Carstens of Bagley and all-Big 12 and academic all-Big 12 offensive lineman Bob Montgomery were given the Reuben J. Miller Award as Cyclone student-athletes whose conduct on and off the field has brought honor and distinction to the University.

Quarterback Bret Meyer of Atlantic and wide receiver Todd Blythe of Indianola were honored as the offensive scout team players of the year. Lineman Caleb Van Cleave of Carlisle was named the defensive scout team player of the year. Safety Caleb Berg earned gold team scout team recognition.

Senior linemen Casey Shelton of West Des Moines was a recipient of the Arthur Floyd Scott Award as the team's outstanding offensive lineman. Carstens, Danielsen, Montgomery, Shelton and linebackers Joe Woodley and Chris Whitaker were recognized for receiving the Ralph Aulmann Memorial Awards as team captains.

AllCyclones Top Stories