Three Wrestlers Advance to Finals

Omaha, Neb. -- Nate Gallick, Kurt Backes and Scott Coleman advanced to the championship round of the Big 12 Wrestling Championship Saturday at the Qwest Center. Oklahoma State, with eight finalists, leads the team scoring heading into the consolation round with 71 points. Iowa State is second with 32 points, followed by Oklahoma (29) and Missouri and Nebraska (both 28).

Gallick improved to 24-0 with a 5-3 win over Oklahoma State's Daniel Frishkorn. Gallick will wrestle 2003 NCAA champion Teyon Ware of Oklahoma in the championship match Saturday night. Backes beat Matt Pell of Missouri, 7-2 and will wrestle top-seeded Travis Pascoe of Nebraska in the title match. Coleman scored a 6-2 win over Jake Hager of Oklahoma. The Cyclone will wrestle 2003 NCAA champion Steve Mocco of Oklahoma State in the final.

Four Iowa State wrestlers, Grant Nakamura (125), Trent Paulson (157), Travis Paulson (165) and Nick Passolano (174) will wrestle for third place at 4 p.m. Saturday.

AllCyclones Top Stories