Cyclone Athletics in Select Company

AMES, Iowa -- Iowa State is one of eight universities among the 119 NCAA Division 1-A schools nationally whose football team won a bowl game in addition to its women's and men's basketball teams earning an invitation to their respective 2005 NCAA basketball tournament fields.

Iowa State's football team beat Miami University 17-13 in the 2004 Independence Bowl. The ISU women's basketball team is the seventh seed in the NCAA women's tournament's Kansas City Regional, and will face 10th-seed Utah Saturday night in Fresno, Calif., at 7 p.m. CST. The Cyclone men are the ninth seed in the NCAA men's tournament's Syracuse Regional, and open tournament play Friday against eighth-seed Minnesota in Charlotte, N.C. The men's starting time has not been announced.

Connecticut, Boston College, Texas Tech, Minnesota, Louisville, Texas and Utah are the other institutions to make the list. In addition, North Carolina, New Mexico, LSU and Oklahoma have both basketball teams in the NCAA tournament and had football teams that lost their bowl game.

AllCyclones Top Stories