Gallick Advances to Final Round

St. Louis, Mo. -- Iowa State's Nate Gallick advanced to the 141-pound final in the fourth session of the 75th annual NCAA Wrestling Championships at the Savvis Center in St. Louis, Mo. Scott Coleman, who earned All-America status with a fourth-round consolation victory, and All-American Trent Paulson are still alive in the consolation bracket. The Cyclones stand in eighth place with 52.5 points. Oklahoma State has all but wrapped up a team title with 127.5 points followed by Cornell with 71 points. The fifth-session begins at 9:30 tomorrow morning before the finals start at 3:30 p.m.

Gallick, the top seed, rode out Michigan State's fifth-seeded Andy Simmons in the second period to gain two minutes of riding time. Simmons was tagged for two stalling calls, giving Gallick a 1-0 advantage. Simmons rode out Gallick enough to eliminate the riding time advantage but Gallick escaped and held on for the 2-0 victory. Gallick will face conference nemesis Teyon Ware for the national title, whom he has beaten in Ames and at the Big 12 Championships.

"I'd rather have an easier match," Gallick said. "It's hard wrestling guys who you know real well because it makes for a difficult match." On facing Oklahoma's Teyon Ware in the finals Gallick said, "This will be the fifth time we've met in two years. He's hard to wrestle as well. He's a tough competitor and has real good defense. We've wrestled each other so much there isn't much about him I don't know and vice versa."

Trent Paulson, guaranteed All-America status with his upset victory over Stanford's Matt Gentry at 157 pounds in the quarterfinals, fell short to Michigan's 2003 national champion and No. 2 seed, Ryan Bertin, 10-7.

Travis Paulson, an All-American in 2004, was defeated by Minnesota's Matt Nagel at 165 pounds, 2-1. Paulson concluded his sophomore year with a record of 21-9.

Kurt Backes was beaten by Iowa's Paul Bradley, 3-1, as Bradley scored a takedown late in the third period. Backes, an All-American in 2004, finishes with a record of 27-5.

Scott Coleman defeated Sacred Heart's Payam Zarrinpour for the second time this year in a fourth round consolation bout but lost in overtime to Penn's sixth-seeded Matt Feast. Coleman, a two-time All-American, also finished seventh last year at the NCAA Championships, will wrestle for seventh-place Saturday.

The two top seeds at 125 pounds, Sam Hazewinkel (Oklahoma) and Nick Simmons (Michigan State) will not meet each other in the finals as they were upset in the semifinals by fifth-seeded Joe Dubuque (Indiana) and third-seeded Kyle Ott (Illinois). Stanford's defending national champion Gentry was denied All-American status at 157 pounds as West Virginia's Matt Lebe scored the sudden victory upset. At the same weight, Illinois' top seed Alex Tirapelle was also eliminated, falling to Indiana's unseeded freshman Brandon Becker. Gentry and Tirapelle were the 2004 NCAA finalists last year. The top seeds at 149 pounds, No. 1 Zack Esposito (Oklahoma State) and No. 2 Phillip Simpson (Army) will meet in the finals. Iowa's eighth-seeded Joe Johnston continued an improbable run for a national title in arguably the toughest weight class by downing 2004 NCAA runner-up Jake Percival of Ohio, 9-8, at 157 pounds to face Michigan's Bertin in the finals tomorrow. Iowa's freshman Mark Perry dealt Lehigh's top seed and two-time national champion Troy Letters his first loss of the season, 3-0, at 165 pounds. Perry will face Oklahoma State's Johny Hendricks whom he has lost to twice this season. The finals at 174 pounds will feature Oklahoma State's Chris Pendleton and Missouri's Ben Askren for the second straight year. Seventh-seeded Tyler Baier of Cornell will meet two-time national champion Greg Jones of West Virginia in the 184 pound finals after Baier scored a takedown with eight seconds remaining the match to upend No. 3 seed Travis Pascoe of Nebraska. Northern Iowa's three-time All-American and No. 5 seed Sean Stender dropped Lehigh's two-time NCAA champion and top seeded Jon Trenge to face Oklahoma State's Jake Rosholt in the finals at 197 pounds. Rosholt defeated Big 12 champion B.J. Padden of Nebraska 10-9 with riding time the deciding factor. Oklahoma State's No. 1 seed Steve Mocco will face Minnesota's Cole Konrad for the third time this year in the heavyweight finals. Mocco has prevailed twice this year over the second-seeded Konrad.

AllCyclones Top Stories