Stinson, Homan Share MVP Honors

AMES, Iowa--Iowa State all-Big 12 performers Jared Homan and Curtis Stinson shared Ralph A. Olsen Most Valuable Player Award honors at the 2004-05 Iowa State men's basketball banquet tonight.

Homan ended his career as one of the best post players in school history. The Remsen, Iowa, native is ISU's all-time career leader in blocks (235) and he ranks sixth and 20th, respectively, in the school's career rebounding (777) and scoring (1,124) charts. Homan posted an outstanding senior season where he earned third-team all-Big 12 honors after averaging 13.6 ppg and 8.7 rpg. He led the Big 12 in blocks (2.06 bpg) and ranked second in the league in rebounding and double-doubles (12). In ISU's four postseason tournament games, Homan averaged 16.0 points, 13.5 rebounds and 4.3 blocks. Homan was also awarded the team's Outstanding Rebounder Award.

Stinson was ISU's go-to player for the second consecutive year, earning first-team all-Big 12 honors (Kansas City Star) and NABC and USBWA all-district selections. The Bronx, N.Y., native ranked in the top 10 in three Big 12 statistical categories: steals (2nd-2.32), assists (5th-4.48) and scoring (8th-17.2). Stinson, who ranked 34th nationally in steals, recorded 72 thefts during the season to help him earn Big 12 all-defensive team kudos. His 72 steals ties for the third-best single-season effort in school history.

True freshman Rahshon Clark was awarded the Outstanding Defense Award. Clark, a native of Queens, N.Y., was the point man on ISU's three-quarter court zone, recording 51 steals, the fourth-best effort for an ISU rookie in school history. Clark, who averaged 7.3 points and 4.1 rebounds, was fifth in the league in steals (conference games only) at 2.2 spg.

Sophomore Will Blalock won the team's Assists and Free-Throw Awards. The Boston, Mass., native was fourth in the Big 12 in assists (4.87 apg), tying for the 18th-best single-season assist total in school history with 146 dimes. Blalock was fifth in the league in assist/turnover ratio (1.95). The point guard led ISU at the free-throw line with a 78.0 percent clip. He made 31 of his last 36 free throws to end the season.

Senior Damion Staple claimed the team's Most Improved Award. Staple, who hails from Kingston, Jamaica, averaged 5.8 points and 4.7 rebounds in his final season with the Cyclones. He averaged 7.3 points in his last 20 games and shot 53.6 percent from the field to rank second on the team.

Tasheed Carr won the 3-Point Award and Sixth Man Award. The Philadelphia, Pa., native led ISU from downtown by drilling 28 treys, the fourth-best total for an ISU freshman in school history. Carr came off the bench to give ISU a spark in a number of games, including a 22-point game at Texas and a 20-point outing against Colorado. Carr averaged 9.4 points in his last 14 games.

Junior Anthony Davis won the Brian Pearson Inspiration Award. The Compton, Calif., native played in 12 games before shoulder surgery ended his season. Davis was averaging 4.6 ppg before the injury.

Reserves Aaron Agnew, John Neal, Dave Braet, Chris Ceaser, Jeff Bergstrom and Dustin Streff all received the Pete Taylor Mr. Hustle Award for their hard work and dedication in practice.

Jeff Bergstrom and Chris Ceaser won Scholar-Athlete Awards and Dave Braet was the men's basketball Academic All-Around Award winner.

AllCyclones Top Stories