Blythe & Leaders All-Big 12

The preseason of unprecedented respect continues with the recognition given to Todd Blythe and Nick Leaders by the Big 12 media, who named the duo to the preseason All-Big 12 football team.

Iowa State wide receiver Todd Blythe and Cyclone nose guard Nick Leaders have been named to the 2005 Preseason All-Big 12 Conference team in a poll of media who cover the league.

Blythe, a sophomore from Indianola, earned second-team all-Big 12 honors from the conference's coaches and writers last season. Blythe earned second-team All-Freshman All-American honors from The Sporting News in 2004 after making 39 receptions for 833 yards and a school-record nine touchdowns. Leaders, a senior from Omaha, Neb., was a second-team all-Big 12 honoree by the league's coaches in 2004. He begins his fourth season as a Iowa State starter with 221 career tackles.

Iowa State opens the season Sept. 3 at 6 p.m. against Illinois State in Ames. The rest of the preseason Big 12 team follows:

Offensive Player of the Year: Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma
Defensive Player of the Year: Rodrique Wright, Texas
Newcomer of the Year: Zac Taylor, Nebraska

WR Jarrett Hicks, Texas Tech, Jr
TE David Thomas, Texas, Sr
OL Tony Palmer, Missouri, Sr.
OL Davin Joseph, Oklahoma, Sr
C Kurt Mann, Nebraska, Jr
OL Justin Blalock, Texas, Jr
OL Jonathan Scott, Texas, Sr
WR Todd Blythe, Iowa State, So
QB Vince Young, Texas, Jr
RB Adrian Peterson, Oklahoma, So
RB Taurean Henderson, Texas Tech, Sr
PK Mason Crosby, Colorado, Jr
KR Willie Andrews, Baylor, Sr

DL Nick Leaders, Iowa State, Sr
DL Larry Birdine, Oklahoma, Jr
DL Dusty Dvoracek, Oklahoma, Sr
DL Rodrique Wright, Texas, Sr
LB Nick Reid, Kansas, Sr.
LB Rufus Alexander, Oklahoma, Jr
LB Aaron Harris, Texas, Sr
DB Charles Gordon, Kansas, Jr
DB Daniel Bullocks, Nebraska, Sr
DB Michael Huff, Texas, Sr
DB Jaxson Appel, Texas A&M, Sr
P Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor, Jr

PR Danny Amendola, Texas Tech, So

AllCyclones Top Stories