Nine ISU Gridders Named Academic All-Big 12

Iowa State's eight first-team members ranked second in the league

Nine Iowa State football players were named to the 2005 Academic All-Big 12 Football Team, the league office announced Tuesday. In all, the Big 12 honored 126 student-athletes.  Leading the way for Iowa State were placekicker-punter Tony Yelk and offensive lineman Seth Zehr, who earned first-team honors for the third time.  Making the first team for the second time were defensive end Shawn Moorehead and safety Caleb Berg.  Only one other Big 12 school had more than the eight first-team members boasted by ISU.

 Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services and the media relations offices, the football academic all-league team consisted of 72 first team members combined with 54 on the second team. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

 To qualify, student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of his team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.

 2005 Iowa State Football Academic All-Big 12 Selections
First Team (3.20+ GPA)
Broc Bebout, Sr., Accounting/Finance
Caleb Berg, So., Health and Fitness Management
Brett Jarvis, Sr., Finance
Shawn Moorehead, Jr., Mechanical Engineering
David Rahe, Sr., Construction Engineering
 Matt Robertson, Jr., Sociology
Tony Yelk, Sr., Exercise and Sport Science
Seth Zehr, Jr., Finance
Second Team (3.00-3.19 GPA)
Scott Stephenson, Jr., Biology

AllCyclones Top Stories