Iowa State Falls Short To Kansas In Overtime

For the second straight year, Iowa State let a Big 12 North title slip away in overtime.

For the second straight year, Iowa State let a Big 12 North title slip away in overtime.

Scott Webb kicked a game-winning 34-yard field goal to give Kansas a 24-21 victory on Saturday, and prevent the Cyclones from advancing to the conference championship game for the first time.

Instead - just like last year - Colorado will represent the North Division. The Buffaloes (7-4, 5-3) were clobbered 30-3 by Nebraska on Friday, giving Iowa State (7-4, 4-4) a chance to win the division by beating Kansas.

But now the Cyclones, who blew a 14-3 lead and failed on a field-goal attempt in overtime, will go to a lesser bowl after seeing their four-game conference winning streak snapped. Colorado, which lost to Iowa State 30-16, will be a heavy underdog to No. 2 Texas, which beat the Buffs 42-17 on Oct. 15.

The Cyclones, who tied Colorado for the North title last year after losing to the Buffaloes in the regular season, missed an opportunity to play for their first outright conference championship in 114 years of football.

Iowa State failed to score on its only overtime possession when Bret Culbertson was wide on a 41-yard attempt. The Jayhawks then set up Webb's third field goal of the day.

The Cyclones entered last year's regular-season finale in the same position, needing to beat Missouri to win the division. But the Cyclones lost 17-14 after Bret Culbertson missed a 24-yard field goal attempt that would have won it in regulation and they couldn't convert in overtime on first-and-goal from the Missouri 3.

Iowa State rallied to send the game into OT last season.  This time, it was the Jayhawks who came from behind late.

The Jayhawks (6-5, 3-5) became bowl-eligible for just the second time in coach Mark Mangino's slow rebuilding process.

Bret Meyer threw for 257 yards and two touchdowns for Iowa State, which was also going for a school-record fifth consecutive conference win.

Meyer hit Todd Blythe for 38 yards and Austin Flynn for 17 to set up Ryan Kock's 1-yard TD plunge with 8:41 left, putting the Cyclones in front 21-14.

Kansas failed on fourth-and-14 a few minutes later, but forced a quick Iowa State punt and then drove 58 yards in four plays, with Brian Luke connecting with Dexton Fields for a 15-yard TD pass to tie it 21-all at the 1:05 mark.

Kansas, trailing 14-3, got a 33-yard field goal from Webb in the third period and then won a review of a fourth-and-goal plunge which originally was ruled no touchdown.

As the Iowa State players danced off the field, the replay booth looked at the play and decided that Luke, who had just come in for the injured Jason Swanson, had indeed gotten in on a 1-yard sneak.

Luke then hit tight end Derek Fine with the 2-point conversion, knotting the score 14-all with 11:28 left.

After starting the conference season 0-3 and becoming the first Big 12 team to lose at home to Baylor - the Cyclones had reeled off four straight wins.

Meyer, while breaking the school record for consecutive passes without an interception, threw touchdown tosses to Jon Davis and Blythe to give the Cyclones a 14-3 halftime lead in a stadium where Kansas had not lost all year.

Webb kicked a career-long 48-yard field goal with a strong wind at his back in the first quarter.

Late in the third quarter, Aqib Talib made a leaping interception, stopping Meyers' school-record string of consecutive passes without a pick at 155.

AllCyclones Top Stories