Six Receive Academic First Team Honors

Iowa State seniors Elizabeth Chermel and Charlotte Ljungkrantz, juniors Jill Palen and Danielle Uscinski and sophomores Chrissy Derouin and Caitlin Loprinzi were named to the 2006 women's tennis academic all-Big 12 first team, the conference announced Tuesday.


Chermel and Ljungkrantz are three-time recipients, while Palen and Uscinski are two-time recipients. Derouin and Loprinzi are receiving the honor for the first time.

A total of 65 men's and women's tennis athletes were selected to this year's academic squad. Iowa State placed the most student-athletes on the women's squad. First-team members consist of those who have a maintained a grade point average of 3.2 or better, while the second team are those who have a GPA of at least 3.0.

To qualify, student-athletes must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Senior student-athletes who meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible as long as they have participated for a minimum of two years.

The student-athletes on the academic squads will participate in the 2006 Big 12 Conference Men's and Women's Tennis Championships, scheduled for April 27-30 at the Baylor Tennis Center in Waco, Texas.

ISU First-Team Honorees:
Elizabeth Chermel, Sr., Southlake, Texas, Marketing major
Charlotte Ljungkrantz, Sr., Southlake, Texas, Aerospace Engineering major
Jill Palen, Jr., Rochester, Minn., Health and Human Performance major
Danielle Uscinski, Jr., Scottsdale, Ariz., Management major
Chrissy Derouin, So., Moline, Ill., Psychology major
Caitlin Loprinzi, So., Rochester, Minn., Open major

AllCyclones Top Stories