CSR Looks Ahead To 2010: Defensive End

Cyclone Sports Report takes an early look at who will likely be the top pass rushers on the Iowa State defensive line in 2010.

Iowa State will not have the lose the solid play of defensive end Chris Lyle next season but they will have a lot of experience returning for the 2010 season.

"Patrick Neal, Roosevelt Maggitt, Rashawn Parker, and Cleyon Laing will top the depth chart in regards to the returning players," said Iowa State defensive coordinator Wally Burnham. "We also might be moving linebacker Jacob Lattimer to defensive end because I feel he might be better suited at that position."

Coach Burnham also feels that some of the younger guys have a chance to move up the depth chart. "We're very excited about Willie Scott," he said. "He just needs to get bigger and stronger but he already is able to bring a lot of speed. Aaron Moore is also a guy who is in the mix at defensive end and we feel he has a bright future."

Yuba Community College transfer Rony Nelson is already on campus and will also be competing for a starting spot at defensive end in 2010.

AllCyclones Top Stories