Fry Named To College Football Hall Of Fame

IOWA CITY, IA – Former Iowa football coach, Hayden Fry has been selected for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. The 2003 Hall of Fame class will be inducted at the 46th annual awards dinner on Dec. 9, 2003 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City. They will officially be enshrined at the Hall in South Bend, IN, in August of 2004.

Fry coached the Hawkeyes from 1979-98 and directed Iowa to three Big Ten titles and Rose Bowl appearances. He is Iowa's all-time winningest football coach with 143 wins. His career record in 37 years as a head coach was 232-178-10. He also coached at Southern Methodist and North Texas State.

Fry and his wife, Shirley, are now retired and living in Iowa City, with a winter residence in Mesquite, NV. He is the 15th University of Iowa player/coach/administrator to be named to the College Football Hall of Fame.

Fry will join the following former Hawkeyes in the Hall of Fame:

Howard Jones, coach

Nile Kinnick, player

Gordon Locke, player

Fred "Duke" Slater, player

Dr. Eddie Anderson, coach

Edward "Slip" Madigan, coach

Eric Wilson, administrator

Calvin Jones, player

Earl Banks, player

Aubrey Devine, player

Randy Duncan, player

Alex Karras, player

Chuck Long, player

Forest Evashevski, coach

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories