Ultimate Coaching Honor For Hayden Fry

Former Iowa coach Hayden Fry, who ranks 11th on the all-time Division I-A victory list with 232 in his career, has been named to the College Football Hall of Fame and will be inducted next Dec. 9 in New York City.

Fry coached the Hawkeyes from 1979-1998 and won a school-record 143 games. His overall record at Iowa was 143-89-6.

He also coached at Southern Methodist from 1962-1972 and at North Texas State from 1973-1978. His career record was 232-178-10.

Iowa had 17 consecutive non-winning seasons prior to Fry's arrival in 1979. His first two teams lost more games than they won, but his 1981 squad wm 1981 squad went 8-4 and played in the Rose Bowl.

Fry joins a list of 15 Iowa coaches, players and administrators in the Hall of Fame.

The other coaches are Howard Jones, Dr. Eddie Anderson, Edward "Slip" Madigan and Forest Evashevski.

The Iowa players in the Hall of Fame are Nile Kinnick, Gordon Locke, Fred "Duke" Slater, Calvin Jones, Earl Banks, Aubrey Devine, Randy Duncan, Alex Karras and Chuck Long.

The administrator is Eric Wilson, who was Iowa's first sports information director.

The other coach named along with Fry to the Hall of Fame today was Doug Dickey, who was at Tennessee and Florida.

Players named to the Hall of Fame were Ricky Bell of Southern California, Murry Bowden of Dartmouth, Tom Brown of Minnesota, Jumbo Covert of Pittsburgh, Jerry Levias, who played for Fry at Southern Methodist, Billy Neighbors of Alabama, Ron Pritchard of Arizona State, John Rauch of Georgia, Barry Sanders of Oklahoma State, Joe Theismann of Notre Dame and Roger Wehrli of Missouri.

Levias became the first black player in SMU history and the first in the Southwest Conference to receive an athletic scholarship.

The new Hall of Fame members will be inducted at the 46th annual awards dinner Dec. 9 at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel in New York City. They will be enshrined in the Hall in South Bend, Ind. In 2004.

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories