Clayborn, Stanzi Semifinalists

Iowa defensive end Adrian Clayborn and quarterback Ricky Stanzi each made it as a semifinalist for prestigious awards.

IOWA CITY, Ia. – University of Iowa defensive end Adrian Clayborn and quarterback Ricky Stanzi have named semi-finalists for two of the most prestigious awards given out in college football. Stanzi made the list for the Maxwell Award and Clayborn for the Bednarik Award. The announcement was made today.

The Maxwell Award is given annually to the nation's outstanding collegiate football player. Iowa's Nile Kinnick (1939) and Chuck Long (1985) have previously won the award for the Hawkeyes. An Iowa player has never won the Bednarik Award, given out to the nation's top defensive player. Both awards are sponsored by the Maxwell Club of America.

Stanzi, a 6-4, 230-pound senior from Mentor, O, is also on Watch List for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and the Davey O'Brien Quarterback of the Year Award. Stanzi, in nine games, has completed 157-230 attempts for 2,212 yards and 20 touchdowns, with only three interceptions. He leads the Big Ten and is third nationally in pass efficiency. Stanzi was a semifinal candidate for the O'Brien Award in 2009 as well.

Clayborn is a 6-4, 285-pound senior from St. Louis, MO. Clayborn is also one of 12 semifinal candidates for the 2010 Rotary Lombardi Award. In nine games he has 40 tackles, including six tackles for loss and 2.5 QB sacks. He also had a blocked a field goal at Michigan and a forced fumble vs. Wisconsin. Clayborn has 26 consecutive starts and has started 33 games in his career.

Maxwell Club voters will pare the semifinalists down to three finalists. Voting begins on Tuesday November 9th and ends November 21st.

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories