Iowa HC Kirk Ferentz Is The Big Ten Coach of the Year

Iowa's Kirk Ferentz once again wins the Big Ten Coach of the Year Award.

It comes as no suprise but Iowa's Kirk Ferentz has won the Big Ten Coach of the Year award. The award is appropriately named the Hayes-Schembechler Coach of the Year award after the notorious Ohio State and Michigan coaches, Woody Hayes and Bo Schembechler.

Ferentz has lead the Hawkeyes to an impressive 12-0 regular season, the first perfect season in Iowa history since 1922. Before this year, Iowa had not even been 10-0 so safe to say this season has been a record breaker and a history maker. For that, Kirk Ferentz will receive more Big Ten hardware.

It is not the first award of this sort for Ferentz in his career. He won the award for the Big Ten three times before this season, in 2002, 2004, and 2009. Now he'll add the 2015 trophy. Kirk Ferentz also won the Associated Press Coach of the Year Award and the Walter Camp Coach of the Year Award in 2002. 

Not only did the 12-0 season spark his name as a leading candidate but it was the manner in which they have done so. This season has came out of nowhere, in a year where nobody expected it. They were 7-6 a year ago and lost all four trophy games. This year they re-clamed all four trophies, went undefeated, clinched a spot in the Big Ten Championshp Game in Indianapolis, and have a great chance to clinch a spot in the 2015-2016 College Football Playoffs. 

Ferentz and the Hawkeyes take on Michigan State Saturday night in Indianapolis. If Iowa were to defeat the Spartans, it would be Kirk Ferentz's third Big Ten Title as head coach in Iowa City. 

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories