Kirk Ferentz Wins Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award

Iowa Head Coach Kirk Ferentz wins the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year ward.

A ton of all-conference honors, all-american honors, individual player awards, and individual coaching awards are piling up in Iowa City this year. The postseason has been very kind to the Iowa Hawkeyes. Their undefeated regular season, Big Ten West title, and Big Ten Championship Game appearance have put the spotlight on the program and all of the recognition and respect have followed. 

The latest is another national award for head coach Kirk Ferentz. The long-time Iowa coach won Big Ten Coach of the Year but has now received the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award. It is presented and voted upon by the Football Writers Association of America (FWAA). Other finalists for the honor were Michigan State head coach Mark Dantonio, Houston head coach Tom Herman, Notre Dame head coach Brian Kelly, Temple head coach Matt Rhule, Stanford head coach David Shaw, Oklahoma head coach Bob Stoops, and Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney. 

Ferentz is in his 17th season as head coach at Iowa and on his way to Iowa's first Rose Bowl in 25 years and the first with him at the controls. They were unranked to begin the season and were ranked as high as 4th in the College Football Playoff Rankings. They finished the year slotted at fifth, one spot ahead of Ohio State. 

This was the third year Ferentz was a finalists for the award as he was also a candidate in 2002 and 2004. 

Iowa will face Stanford in the Rose Bowl on January 1, 2016.

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories