Iowa Releases Football Awards

Iowa held their football awards banquet Friday night and shared their award-winners in a press release.

The University of Iowa football program held their awards banquet from the 2015 season on Friday night. In a press release, they sent out the list of award-winners from the festivities.

The Roy J. Carver Most Valuable Players were handed to quarterback C.J. Beathard and cornerback Desmond King. Beathard and King both return to the Hawkeyes for one more season which tells you everything you need to know about the amount of expectations that will be placed on the team in 2016.

The five permanent team captains for the year were also announced. As expected, Drew Ott and Jordan Lomax were chosen on defense while Beathard and Austin Blythe were selected on offense. A fifth was given to linebacker Josey Jewell. He was praised all year for his work ethic and leadership despite being just a sophomore. That is a huge honor for a player with two years of eligibility still remaining.

The "Extra Heartbeat" award goes to players who show exempliary leadership and dedication throughout the year according to the press release. The honorees for this award were Jewell and Ott from the defense, Beathard and Blythe from the offense, and senior Travis Perry for his work on the special teams unit. 

The Forest Evashevski Scholastic Achievement Award is handed to the senior who has the highest scholastic record. That was also given to safety Jordan Lomax. 

The Brett Greenwood Award, according to the university release, is given to the walk-on who embodies the values and behaviors of former Hawkeye walk-on Brett Greenwood. The winners of this award were senior fullbacks Macon Plewa and Adam Cox.

The Next Man In Award is just how it sounds. Those were given to offensive tackle Cole Croston and defensive end Parker Hesse. Croston stepped in admirably after injuries to Ike Boettger and Boone Myers. Parker Hesse took over after the season-ending injury to senior Drew Ott.

Winners of the Coaches Appreciation Award were seniors Jordan Canzeri, Jordan Walsh, and Tevaun Smith on offense, senior Jordan Lomax on defense, and junior Riley McCarron and senior Cole Fisher for their contributions on special teams.

The Finish Strong Award recipient went to linebacker Cole Fisher. He was a special teams contributor his entire career until he was finally named a starter on defense his final season where he was second on the team in tackles.

Team Hustle Awards were shared by Jacob Hillyer, Matt VandeBerg, Henry Krieger Coble, Josey Jewell, Nate Meier, Miles Taylor, and Brandon Snyder. 

The university release also identified Bob Brooks as honoree of the Distinguished Achievement Award, and deservedly so. A native of Cedar Rapids, Brooks has covered Iowa athletics since 1943. He is a legend in his field and revered by fans, players, former players, former and current university employees, and all of his colleagues, new and old. 

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories