Iowa Football Names 2016 Leadership Group

Iowa has named their 2016 Leadership Group for the football season.

Kirk Ferentz and the Iowa Hawkeyes have a tradition every year of naming a leadership group for the football regular season. This year is no different and the picks have already been made.

The purpose of the group is to "assist in formulating policies, and being involved in team decision-making matters regarding the upcoming season". Players are selected by a vote of their teammates. 

"Much of our success last year was driven by the 2015 Leadership Group," head coach Kirk Ferentz said in a statement released to the press. "I am pleased with the quality job the 2016 group has already done through the winter program and spring practice. Their leadership will be even more important as we begin summer training next week in preparation for August camp and the 2016 season."

The group consists of nine seniors and seven juniors. 

Seniors: QB C.J. Beathard, OT Cole Croston, RB LeShun Daniels, DT Jaleel Johnson, CB Desmond King, TE George Kittle, CB Greg Mabin, WR Riley McCarron and WR Matt VandeBerg.

Juniors: DT Nathan Bazata, OT Ike Boettger, LB Bo Bower, LB Josey Jewell, OT Boone Myers, LB Ben Niemann, and OL Sean Welsh. 

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories