Derek Young/SCOUT

Iowa Names Four Captains

Iowa names their four captains for the opener against Miami (Ohio).

Kirk Ferentz unveiled his four captains for the first time on Tuesday during his first press conference of the regular season as the Iowa Hawkeyes gear up for a bout with Miami (Ohio). To nobody's surprise, quarterback C.J. Beathard and cornerback Desmond King were two of the selections. Also coming as no shock was that junior linebacker Josey Jewell was a selection as well. 

The fourth was more of a mystery. The other three had represented the Hawkeyes in Chicago for Big Ten Media Day and a fourth could come from any of Jaleel Johnson, Greg Mabin, Cole Croston, Sean Welsh, George Kittle, Riley McCarron, Matt VandeBerg or LeShun Daniels. However, it went to VandeBerg who is very deserving of the honor.

Two offensive players were selected to pair with two defensive players, which is pretty customary for Iowa. The group is also comprised of three seniors and one junior.

The four captains for all of the games a year ago were Drew Ott, C.J. Beathard, Jordan Lomax, and Austin Blythe. That will make this the second year for Beathard.

Jewell was also named a permanent captain following last year's season. With being selected as a captain this year, if he also is selected next year in his final season, he would be a three-time captain.

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories