Hawkeye Annoucements

The sports information office released several interesting items today. The include Jerry Burns being the honorary captain this week, Hall of Fame inductions and Lester Erb being named Special Teams Coach of the Year. Read more here.

Former University of Iowa Football Coach Jerry Burns will be the Hawkeyes' honorary captain for Saturday's season opener against Miami (O). Kickoff is slated for 11:02 in Kinnick Stadium and plenty of tickets remain.

Burns will be with the team prior to the game. He will accompany the Iowa captains to the center of the field for the pre-game coin flip and will be with the Hawkeyes on the sidelines.

Burns served as Iowa's head coach from 1961 thru 1965. Prior to that time he was an assistant coach on Forest Evashevski's Iowa staff. He helped guide the Hawkeyes to victories in the 1957 and 1959 Rose Bowls.

Following his years at Iowa, Burns was an NFL assistant with the Green Bay Packers and Minnesota Vikings. He helped those teams to a total of six Super Bowl berths.

Burns joined Bud Grant's Minnesota Viking staff following two years with the Packers. His first two years in the NFL landed him in Super Bowls I & II with the Packers. He was Minnesota's offensive coordinator from 1968-85, helping guide the team to four Super Bowl berths and 11 central division titles. He served as Vikings head coach from 1986-91.

Burns, 76, currently resides in Eden Prairie, MN. -----

American Football Monthy has named University of Iowa Assistant Football Coach Lester Erb Special Teams Coordinator of the Year. The honor was announced today.

Erb, now in his fourth year at Iowa, coaches Iowa's receivers and special teams. Last year, Iowa's special teams excelled in the kickoff, punting, place-kicking and kick blocks categories. Iowa topped the nation in kickoff returns (25.1 yard average) last year and finished third in Big Ten punt returns (11.8). Four opponent kicks were blocked and all turned into scores for the Hawkeyes.

The offensive and defensive coordinator of the year awards went to Southern Cal's Norm Chow (offense) and Georgia's Brian VanGorder (defense).

Erb becomes the third Iowa coach honored following the 2002 season. Head Coach Kirk Ferentz was named Associated Press and Walter Camp Coach of the Year. Defensive line coach Ron Aiken was named division I Assistant Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association.

Iowa opens the 2003 football season Saturday at home against Miami (O). Kickoff is 11:02 a.m. in Kinnick Stadium.

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories