Hawkeyes Dot All Big Ten Teams

<P>Five members of the Iowa Hawkeye football team have earned 1st Team All Big Ten honors, the league announced on Tuesday. Robert Gallery, Bob Sanders, Nate Kaeding and Matt Roth were named to the first team on both the coaches and the media ballots, while Abdul Hodge picked up 1st team honors from the media.


Gallery and Sanders were the only unanimous selections on the coaches ballot.

Chad Greenway, Howard Hodges and Fred Russell earned 2nd team honors on both ballots, and Hodge earned 2nd team honors on the coaches' ballot.

Jared Clauss and Grant Steen were received honorable mention recognition by the coaches.

Gallery was named the Offensive Lineman of the Year in the Big Ten, becoming the second lineman from Iowa in the last two years to pick up that award (Eric Steinbach).

Michigan State coach John L. Smith was named the Coach of the Year by the media.

Gallery, Hodge, Sanders, Kaeding and Russell won 1st team honors last year for the Hawkeyes.

Bob Sanders becomes a three-time 1st team all Big Ten selection and is the first Hawkeye to accomplish that feat since Jared DeVries turned that trick in 196=1998. Chuck Long was also a three time 1st team selection between 1983-1985. Cal Jones was the 'next most recent' Hawkeye to be named to three 1st teams, back in 1953-1955.

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories