Hawkeye Players Earn All Big Ten Honors

Several members of the 2004 Iowa Hawkeye football team received First Team All Big Ten honors today, including sophomore quarterback Drew Tate. Matt Roth was the lone unanimous defensive selection on the coaches ballot, but Erasmus James turned that trick on the media's ballot, thus earning him Defensive Player of the Year honors. Find out what other Hawkeyes were honored by the Big Ten on Tuesday.

Iowa Head Coach Kirk Ferentz was the media's choice for the Dave McClain Coach of the Year award after leading his program to a share of the title.

Ferentz earns Coach of the Year laurels for the second time in his career, as he was also honored in 2002 after leading the Hawkeyes to his first Big Ten title. The Iowa mentor rallied his team from a season-opening defeat at Michigan to reel off seven straight victories and earn a share of the 2004 Big Ten Championship, as Iowa finished atop the standings twice in three seasons for the first time since 1960 and 1958. The only other Hawkeyes mentor to claim Coach of the Year honors was Hayden Fry, who was honored on two occasions in 1981 and 1990.

The Dave McClain Big Ten Coach of the Year award is voted on by a Conference media panel and is named for the late Wisconsin coach, who served at the Badgers' helm from 1978-1985. The League dedicated this award to his honor in 1986.

Overall, there are 17 repeat honorees on either the First or Second All-Big Ten Teams from a year ago, including eight First Team selections from 2003 who are on this year's First Team – Iowa's Abdul Hodge and Matt Roth, Michigan's Baas and Edwards, Minnesota's Greg Eslinger, Ohio State's A.J. Hawk and Wisconsin's Anttaj Hawthorne and Jim Leonhard. Baas and Leonhard are the only three-time First Team All-Big Ten honorees, as Leonhard is the first Badger to earn three straight selections since Bryant from 1999-2001.

-CAPS denotes players with eligibility remaining

DREW TATE (Coaches)
Matt Roth (Media & Coaches..only unanimous D pick by the coaches)
Jonathon Babineaux (M)


Drew Tate (M)
Hodge (M)
Babineaux (C)


ANTWAN ALLEN, Sean Considine, ED HINKEL, Tony Jackson, JOVON JOHNSON, MIKE JONES, Tyler Luebke, Peter McMahon, KYLE SCHLICHER, Tony Jackson,

Big Ten Co-Champion Michigan claimed three individual honors as the coaches and media picked Braylon Edwards as the Offensive Player of the Year and Michael Hart as the Freshman of the Year while the coaches also chose David Baas as the Offensive Lineman of the Year. Wisconsin's Erasmus James swept Defensive Player of the Year laurels from both groups while also garnering Defensive Lineman of the Year accolades from the coaches.

The Conference office also announced honorees from each team for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award. The student-athletes chosen are individuals who have distinguished themselves through sportsmanship and ethical behavior. In addition, the student-athletes must be in good academic standing and have demonstrated good citizenship outside of the sports-competition setting. Honorees for football are Kelvin Hayden of Illinois, Aaron Halterman of Indiana, Jonathan Babineaux of Iowa, Kevin Dudley of Michigan, Tyrell Dortch of Michigan State, Dominique Sims of Minnesota, Luis Castillo of Northwestern, Maurice Hall of Ohio State, Zack Mills of Penn State, Kyle Ingraham of Purdue and Scott Starks of Wisconsin. These 11 student-athletes are now candidates for the Big Ten Sportsmanship Award, as the Conference office will select one male and one female student-athlete from each institution at the end of the school year.

BOWL CHARTER: If you are thinking about heading to Iowa's bowl game, then HawkeyeNation.com has you covered. Join us on our third annual bowl charter flight. We are taking reservations right now! One plane has already been sold, and a second plane is filling rapidly, so do not delay and join our inredibly popular trip. For more information, CLICK HERE

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories