The Countdown

Ten aspects of Iowa's 56-0 win over Ball State on Saturday, by the numbers.

TEN: Ten different Iowa receivers caught passes on Saturday against Ball State. Six of those ten pass catchers hauled in the first reception of their careers.

NINE: Iowa ran its overall winning streak to nine games on Saturday, dating back to last year's home win against Michigan State. Thanks to Auburn's opening night loss against Clemson, Iowa's streak is now third longest in the nation. Runner Up: David Walker has played in just nine games for Iowa during his career.

EIGHT: Eight different backs carried the ball for Iowa on Saturday, if you don't count the two ‘rushes' that Drew Tate was credited for. In the college game, quarterback sacks count as rushing attempts, and Tate was sacked twice.

SEVEN: Ball State recorded just seven first downs on Saturday, a great number for a defense regardless of the strength of the opponent.

SIX: Iowa was six of six in red zone scoring chances on Saturday, and all six scores were touchdowns. In our Friday preview, we talked about how Iowa needed to increase their ‘touchdown efficiency' in the red zone compared to last year…they accomplished that against BSU.

FIVE: As in Drew Tate's number. The junior QB threw just 10 passes and he completed nine of them. The lone incompletion was the long pass that bounced off Ed Hinkel's fingertips in the North end zone. Runner Up: Albert Young had five carries for 61 yards.

FOUR: As in Herb Grigsby's number. The sophomore's first ever catch as a Hawkeye resulted in a 33-yard touchdown. Runner Up: BSU was just 4 of 17 on third down conversions.

THREE: Iowa's defense recorded three sacks on Saturday; Bryan Mattison, Kenny Iwebema and Abdul Hodge wound up on the stat sheet.

TWO POINT FIVE: OK, we cheated a bit here, but BSU averaged just 2.5 yards per play for the entire game. Runner Up: Iowa had two turnovers in this game, the lone smudge on this resume.

ONE: As in the number of first year players that saw action on Saturday: Shonn Greene, Tony Moeaki, Dace Richardson, Ryan Bain and Alex Kanellis.

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories