#1 Minnesota Takes Down #10 Iowa

IOWA CITY, IA -- The Iowa wrestling team closed out the 2006-07 dual meet season with a 29-13 loss to top-ranked Minnesota in Iowa City. A crowd of 8,274 saw the Hawkeyes end the regular season at 14-5 (5-3 in the Big Ten). The Golden Gophers claimed the Big Ten regular season title with a spotless 8-0 conference mark, going 20-1 overall.

Minnesota jumped out to a 10-0 lead on Jayson Ness' 8-0 major decision over Hawkeye sophomore Charlie Falck at 125 and Gilbertville, IA, native Mack Reiter's 5:38 pin of senior Lucas Magnani. Hawkeye junior Alex Tsirtsis gave Iowa a much-needed boost at 141, pinning Mike Thorn in 1:16. It was Tsirtsis' third pin of the season and his 65th career win. The Golden Gophers responded with decisions at 149 and 157 from brothers Dustin and C.P. Schlatter to build a 16-6 lead.

After the intermission, Iowa scored two wins of its own. Junior Mark Perry scored a last second escape to defeat Tyler Safratowich, 10-2, at 165, and pick up his 20th collegiate win of the season. Senior Eric Luedke celebrated his 22nd birthday with a 3-1 win in the first tiebreak period over Gabriel Dretsch at 174. Luedke finished the regular season with a 25-2 collegiate mark, going 16-1 in dual matches. Minnesota ended the dual with wins at the last three weights, including a major decision at 184 and a forfeit at heavyweight.

Iowa's next competition will be at the 2007 Big Ten Championships, March 3-4, at the Breslin Center in East Lansing, MI.

Minnesota 29, Iowa 13
125 - Jayson Ness (M) maj. dec. Charlie Falck (I), 8-0
133 - Mack Reiter (M) pinned Lucas Magnani (I), 5:38
141 - Alex Tsirtsis (I) pinned Mike Thorn (M), 1:16
149 - Dustin Schlatter (M) dec. Alex Grunder (I), 5-2
157 - C.P. Schlatter (M) dec. Ryan Morningstar (I), 9-4
165 - Mark Perry (I) maj. dec. Tyler Safratowich (M), 10-2
174 - Eric Luedke (I) dec. Gabriel Dretsch (M), 3-1 TB-1
184 - Roger Kish (M) maj. dec. Phillip Keddy (I), 14-5
197 - Yura Malamura (M) dec. Jordan McLaughlin (I), 4-3
Hwt. - Cole Konrad (M) won by forfeit

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories