Five Hawkeyes Advance to Midlands Semi's

It was a busy day for the staff, as Brian Finley, Jean Finley and Jason Miller provided outstanding and unparalleled coverage of the 45th Annual Midlands Invitational. Get caught up on all of the action...

It was a busy day for the staff, as Brian Finley, Jean Finley and Jason Miller provided outstanding and unparalleled coverage of the 45th Annual Midlands Invitational.

Brian filed match by match audio recaps that can be found HERE, and he will do the same on Sunday. Jean Finley managed the match by match updates on our Wrestling Message board, and much more.

Brian also filed several interviews from the event, that can be found HERE. Hear from Iowa Coach Tom Brands and several wrestlers, including Mark Perry, Iowa's 165-pound participant who is 3 and 0 with three falls in the tournament thus far.

Also, visit our wrestling forum to see what Sunday's matchups will bring, and more: CLICK HERE

Below, you will find the latest release from Iowa's Sports Information Department, plus the up to date team standings....

EVANSTON, IL -- Five Hawkeye wrestlers advanced to Sunday's semifinals at the 45th annual Midlands Championships in Evanston, IL, Saturday night. The Hawkeyes are in second place in the team race with 88.5 points after the first day of competition. Defending team champion Iowa State is in first place with 90.5.

                Junior Mark Perry (165) and sophomores Joe Slaton (133), Dan LeClere (141), Brent Metcalf (149) and Jay Borschel (174) all advanced to the semifinals. Perry, who is the second seed, scored his third pin of the day by decking Illinois' Roger Smith-Bergsrud in 2:39. He will face unseeded Dominic Marella of Northwestern in the semifinals. Slaton, who is the third seed, beat sixth seed Pat Castillo of Northern Illinois, 12-6, to remain undefeated at 10-0 this season.  He will wrestle second-seeded Jim Kennedy of Illinois in the semifinals. LeClere and Borschel both upset higher seeds in their quarterfinal matches, with fifth-seeded LeClere beating fourth-seed Eric Kruger of Central Michigan, 6-5, and sixth-seeded Borschel scoring a 10-1 major decision over third-seed Duke Burk of Northern Illinois to remain undefeated at 11-0. LeClere will face eight seed Corey Jantzen of Harvard in the semifinals, while Borschel will meet second seed Brandon Sinnott of Central Michigan. Metcalf, who is the second seed, beat seventh-seeded Josh Wagner of Missouri, 17-11. He will face third-seed Mitch Mueller of Iowa State in the semifinals.  Metcalf beat Mueller by a 14-4 major decision at the Iowa-Iowa State dual earlier this month in Ames.

                Still competing for Iowa in the consolation bracket are seniors Matt Fields (Hwt.) and Alex Tsirtsis (141), junior Charlie Falck (125), sophomores Ryan Morningstar (157) and Phillip Keddy (184), and freshmen Montell Marion (133) and Brodie Ambrose (197).

                Sunday's semifinals and consolation matches are set to start at noon with the finals and placing matches beginning at 7 p.m. The finals will air live on the Big Ten Network, which is available on DIRECTV Channel 200 and DISH Network Channel 439. All matches will be held at Welsh-Ryan Arena on the Northwestern University campus.



1.    Iowa State                                  90.5

2.    Iowa                                              88.5

3.    Central Michigan                     80

4.    Illinois                                          70.5

5.    Indiana                                         59

6.    Northwestern                           58

7.    Purdue                                         46

8.    Pittsburgh                                   44

9.    Northern Illinois                      41

10.  Michigan State                          36.5


125 - #6 Gabe Flores (Illinois) pinned #3 Charlie Falck (Iowa), 4:27  

133 - #3 Joe Slaton (Iowa) dec. #6 Pat Castillo (N. Illinois), 12-6

141 - #8 Corey Jantzen (Harvard) dec. #1 Alex Tsirtsis (Iowa), 8-3 

141 - #5 Dan LeClere (Iowa) dec. #4 Eric Kruger (C. Michigan), 6-5

149 - #2 Brent Metcalf (Iowa) dec. #7 Josh Wagner (Missouri), 17-11

157 - #4 Brian Cobb (RRWC) dec. #5 Ryan Morningstar (Iowa), 8-3 

165 - #2 Mark Perry (Iowa) pinned #7 Roger Smith-Bergsrud (Illinois), 2:39

174 - #6 Jay Borschel (Iowa) maj. dec. #3 Duke Burk (N. Illinois), 10-1

184 - #3 Christian Sinnott (C. Michigan) dec. Phillip Keddy (Iowa), 3-2 

Hwt. - #5 David Zabriskie (Iowa St.) dec. #4 Matt Fields (Iowa), 2-1  



133 - Montell Marion (Iowa) won by medical forfeit over Tommy Hill (S. Illinois)

133 - Montell Marion (Iowa) dec. Sean Schmaltz (Purdue), 8-4

133 - Tyler Halverson (Iowa) dec.  Jacob Pedersen (Peacock WC), 8-7

133 - Christian Smith (Liberty) dec. Tyler Halverson (Iowa), 5-2

149 - Byron Kuylen (Montana St. Northern) tech. fall Nick LeClere (Iowa), 20-5, 5:26 

149 - Matt Ballweg (Iowa) dec. Ashtin Primus (Missouri), 7-6

149 - Kurt Kinser (Indiana) pinned Matt Ballweg (Iowa), 0:50

157 - Emanual Brooks (Missouri) maj. dec. Brooks Kopsa (Iowa), 13-5 

157 - Stew Gillmor (Iowa) pinned Craig Carpenter (Harvard), 3:22

157 - Jason Welch (Unattached) pinned Stew Gillmor (Iowa), 3:17

165 - Jake Kerr (Iowa) dec. Rex Kendle (Michigan St.), 6-2

165 - Luke Manuel (Purdue) dec. Jake Kerr (Iowa), 2-0

165 - Aaron Janssen (Iowa) dec. Scott Wallace (N. Illinois), 4-2

165 - Tade Kemitz (WWC) pinned Aaron Janssen (Iowa), 0:36

174 - Chad Beatty (Iowa) dec. Andrew Gevving (Columbia), 10-3

174 - Ben Friedl (Illinois) dec. Chad Beatty (Iowa), 5-4

184 - #4 Louis Caputo (Harvard) pinned Rick Loera (Iowa), 3:35  

184 - #5 Vince Jones (Nebraska) maj. dec. Vinnie Wagner (Iowa), 14-5 

197 - Brodie Ambrose (Iowa) dec. Dave Crowell (Pittsburgh), 8-2

197 - Brodie Ambrose (Iowa) won by forfeit over John Schoen (Northwestern)

197 - Brodie Ambrose (Iowa) won by medical forfeit Alek Hughes (Cleveland St.)

Hwt. - Patrick Walker (Liberty) dec. Blake Rasing (Iowa), 10-4 

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories