#1 Iowa Obliterates Midlands Field

Iowa beat Iowa State in a December dual meet last season, but ISU went on to score nearly 155 points to win the 44th Midlands Invitational. Iowa finished second last year, 47.5 back of ISU. ISU went on to finish #2 at nationals, Iowa a disappointing 8th. This year, Iowa beat ISU in their dual meet and finished 46 points ahead of ISU to capture the Midlands team title with 185 points.

Iowa finished 46 points ahead of runner up Iowa State, nearly identical to Iowa State's 47.5 margin of victory in last year's Midlands.

Eight of Iowa's 10 point-scoring wrestlers either wrestled to or above their seed. Matt Fields, who was seeded 4th and finished 8th, did not.

Here is a list of the final individual results. Many more updates are on the way...

#3 Charlie Falck finishes in 3rd place at 125

#3 Joe Slaton wins the title at 133

#5 Dan LeClere wins the title at 141

#1 Alex Tsirtsis (unattached) finishes in  3rd place at 141

#2 Brent Metcalf wins the title at 149

#5 Ryan Morningstar finishes in  5th place at 157

#2 Mark Perry wins the title at 165

#6 Jay Borschel finishes 2nd at 174

NR Phil Keddy finishes in 4th place at 184

#4 Matt Fields finishes in 8th place at 285.

#2 Mike Faust (unattached) finishes 2nd at 285.

1 185.0 Iowa
2 139.0 Iowa State
3 117.5 Central Michigan
4 100.0 Illinois
5 89.5 Northwestern University
6 79.5 Pittsburgh
7 78.5 Tennesse-Chattanooga
8 74.5 Indiana
9 58.0 Purdue

Art Kraft Champion of Champions: 165 Mark Perry (Iowa)
Dan Gable Outstanding Wrestler: 165 Mark Perry (Iowa)
High Point: 165 Mark Perry (Iowa) 30
Fastest Fall: 165 Jesse Linczmaier (Northern Illinois) 30 seconds
Most Falls / Least Time: 165 Mark Perry (Iowa) 4 / 8:10

Here is the release from Iowa Sports Information:

EVANSTON, IL -- The University of Iowa wrestling team crowned four individual champions en route to winning the 2007 Midlands team title Sunday night in Evanston, IL. The Hawkeyes won their 19th team title in school history and their first since 2002. Iowa scored 185 points to win the 45th annual tournament. Defending team champion Iowa State placed second with 139.

        The Hawkeyes went four-for-five in the finals with junior Mark Perry (165) and sophomores Joe Slaton (133), Dan LeClere (141) and Brent Metcalf (149) each winning individual titles. It was Perry's second career title and his fourth appearance in the finals. It was the first title for Slaton, LeClere and Metcalf. 

        Slaton set the tone for Iowa in the finals with a 6-2 upset over top seed Franklin Gomez of Indiana to remain undefeated at 12-0. LeClere followed with a narrow 5-4 upset over second seed Zack Bailey of Oklahoma. Metcalf won Iowa's third straight title, racking up third-period points to beat fifth seed Jake Patascil of Purdue by an 18-5 major decision. Perry made Iowa four-for-four in the finals with his 8-0 major decision over fifth seed Jonathan Reader of Iowa State. Perry led the tournament field with four pins in a total time of 8:10. Sophomore Jay Borschel wrestled above his sixth seed, but could not pull the upset over top seed Keith Gavin of Pittsburgh and lost Iowa's final championship match, 13-4.

        Also placing for the Hawkeyes were seniors Alex Tsirtsis (141-3rd) and Matt Fields (Hwt.-8th), junior Charlie Falck (125-3rd), and sophomores Phillip Keddy (184-4th) and Ryan Morningstar (157-5th). Tsirtsis was wrestling as an unattached Hawkeye.

        Top-ranked Iowa (7-0) will return to Iowa City to host fifth-ranked Oklahoma State (5-1) Saturday at 7 p.m. in Carver-Hawkeye Arena. The UI Athletics Ticket Office has already sold almost 7,000 tickets for the dual meet and encourages fans to purchase tickets in advance. Tickets purchased in advance are $8 for adults and $4 for youth. Prices increase to $10 for adults and $5 for youth on match night. Tickets can be purchased online at www.hawkeyesports.com, over the telephone at 1-800 IA-HAWKS, and at the UI Athletics Ticket Office in Carver-Hawkeye.  The ticket office is open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Friday, but will be closed on New Year's Day.



1.    Iowa                                                  185

2.    Iowa State                                      139

3.    Central Michigan                         117.5

4.    Illinois                                              100

5.    Northwestern                               89.5

6.    Pittsburgh                                       79.5

7.    Tennessee-Chattanooga          78.5

8.    Indiana                                             74.5

9.    Purdue                                             58

10.  Northern Illinois                          50



133 - #3 Joe Slaton (Iowa) dec. #1 Franklin Gomez (Indiana), 6-2

141 - #5 Dan LeClere (Iowa) dec. #2 Zack Bailey (Oklahoma), 5-4

149 - #2 Brent Metcalf (Iowa) maj. dec. #5 Jake Patascil (Purdue), 18-5

165 - #2 Mark Perry (Iowa) maj. dec. #5 Jonathan Reader (Iowa St.), 8-0

174 - #1 Keith Gavin (Pittsburgh) maj. dec. #6 Jay Borschel (Iowa), 13-4 



125 - #3 Charlie Falck (Iowa) dec. #8 Ben VomBaur (Wyoming), 4-2

141 - #1 Alex Tsirtsis (Iowa) maj. dec. Cody Cleveland (Tennessee-Chattanooga), 12-1

184 - #3 Christian Sinnott (C. Michigan) dec. Phillip Keddy (Iowa), 5-3    



157 - #5 Ryan Morningstar (Iowa) dec. Jason Welch (Unattached), 9-4

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories