A Dozen Hawk MVP's

IOWA CITY, IA - - The Big Ten champion Iowa football team has named its starting 12 seniors co-winners of this year's Roy J. Carver Most Valuable Player Award for the 2002 season. The announcement came today (Friday) at the team's annual awards banquet in Iowa City.

The Hawkeyes co-MVP Award winners include seven on offense and five on defense. The offensive players are QB Brad Banks, OL David Porter, OL Ben Sobieski, WR C.J. Jones, OL Andrew Lightfoot, OL Bruce Nelson and OL Eric Steinbach. Defensive players include DB Scott Boleyn, DB D.J. Johnson, DB Derek Pagel, LB Fred Barr and DT Colin Cole.

The Hawkeyes have finished their regular season with an 11-1 record and a perfect 8-0 mark in the Big Ten. It marked the first time an Iowa team has ever won 11 games and the school's first undefeated Big Ten campaign since 1922 (5-0). Iowa will be the Big Ten's outright champion if Michigan beats Ohio State Saturday. Regardless of the outcome, the Hawkeyes are virtually guaranteed their first Jan. 1st bowl game since the 1991 Rose Bowl.

Iowa also gave co-MVP trophies to its starting seniors following Big Ten title seasons in 1985 and 1990.

Banks, in addition to being named a co-MVP, is considered a leading candidate for this year's Heisman Trophy, emblematic of college football's Player of the Year.

The Hayden Fry "Extra Heartbeat" Award went to seniors Banks and Nelson. The award is given in honor of Iowa's legendary coach, who retired after the 1998 season. It goes to a player who gives that little bit extra at all times. Banks leads the nation in pass efficiency and was three times named Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week. He threw for 25 touchdowns. Nelson was the center on an offensive line considered by many to be the best in the nation. He has started 47 straight games in Iowa's O-line.

Lightfoot, a three-time Verizon District Academic all-America selection, was named winner of the Forest Evashevski Scholastic Achievement Award. The Award goes annually to a player who displays a high degree of proficiency in both the classroom and the playing field.

A number of other awards were given out at the banquet.

The 2002 Coaches Appreciation Awards went to six players. Junior receiver Mo Brown and sophomore back Fred Russell on offense, sophomore end Jon Babineaux and junior end Howard Hodges on defense and freshman Abdul Hodge and sophomore David Bradley on special teams.

Junior kicker Nate Kaeding was named Special Team Specialist of the Year for the second straight year and senior Scott Boleyn was named the overall Special Teams Player of the Year. Kaeding is one of three finalists for this year's Lou Groza Placekicker of the Year Award.

The Hawkeye Hustle Awards went to eight players. On offense the winners are tight end Dallas Clark, lineman Robert Gallery and fullback Edgar Cervantes. Defensively the winners are safety Bob Sanders, tackle Jared Clauss and linebacker Grant Steen. Special team winners are Matt Roth and Sean Considine. All, except sophomores Roth and Considine, are juniors.

Team Leader Awards were given to senior offensive linemen Will Lack, Jason Hoveland and Erik Chinander and junior defensive lineman John Traynor.

Seniors Banks and Nelson (offense), Barr and Cole (defense) and junior Nate Kaeding (special teams) were named permanent captains for the 2002 season. The five will also serve as captains in whichever bowl game Iowa is selected to participate in. Cole and Pagel were also named winners of this year's Iron Hawk Award.

The 2002 Players' Appreciation Award went to Ron and Margaret Kenyon. The Kenyons provided the majority of the funding for Iowa's new football practice facility, which includes three practice fields. The new fields have enhanced Iowa's pre-game preparation all season.

The Bump Elliott Appreciation Award went jointly to University communications professor Randy Hirokawa and team physician Dr. Ned Amendola.

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories