Kirk Ferentz and Dallas Clark Honored Again

IOWA CITY, IA. – Iowa Football Coach Kirk Ferentz has been named Division I district Coach of the Year while Dallas Clark is a finalist for the 2002 John Mackey Award.

Ferentz, in his fourth year at Iowa, resurrected an Iowa program and led the Hawkeyes to an 11-1 regular season mark this season. A bowl game still awaits the third-ranked Iowa team.

Kirk joins Walt Harris (Pittsburgh), Mark Richt (Georgia), Dan Hawkins (Boise State), Bobby Stoops (Oklahoma) and Mike Price (Washington State) as regional winners.

The national winners will be announced January 7th at the national coaches convention in New Orleans.


IOWA CITY, IA. – Iowa's all-American tight end Dallas Clark has been named a finalist for the 2002 John Mackey Award. The award goes annually to the nation's top collegiate tight end. The winner will be announced Dec. 11th.

Clark, a junior from Livermore, IA, has been named to the 2002 Football Writers first all-America team and is a first-team all-Big Ten selection by the writers and coaches.

He caught 39 passes for 645 yards and four touchdowns this season. Dallas caught a seven-yard TD catch against Purdue with just over a minute remaining to give Iowa the come-from-behind victory. He also caught a 95-yard scoring aerial in the same game.

Joining Clark as finalists for the award are Kellen Winslow Jr. of Miami and Mike Seidman of UCLA.

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories