Greene Wins 2008 Doak Walker

The Iowa Hawkeyes can add another trophy to their collection of individual award winners, as running back Shonn Greene was named the 2008 Doak Walker Award winner. Greene won the award from a field of finalists made up of himself, Javon Ringer of Michigan State and Georgia's Knowshon Mareno.

Greene gained nearly 1,800 yards rushing this year and averaged over 6.1 yards per attempt. His 1,729 rushing yards set a new school record, and his 17 rushing touchdowns tied the school mark.

The junior topped 100-yards rushing in each of Iowa's 12 game this season, and he was the only back in college football to pull off that remarkable feat.

Greene accepted the award at the Home Depot College Football Awards Show in Orlando, Florida. He is Iowa's first Doak Walker Award winner, and he is bidding to become Iowa's first consensus first team All American running back since the famed Nile Kinnick in 1939, the year Kinnick won the Heisman Trophy.

Several recent Hawkeyes have taken home some impressive hardware, including Robert Gallery (The Outland), Nate Kaeding (Groza), Brad Banks (Maxwell) & Dallas Clark (Mackey).

Hawkeye Insider Top Stories