Pullen Wins Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

MANHATTAN, Kan. - Jacob Pullen's dream was to get to the Final Four someday, and that dream is being realized this weekend … at least sort of. Pullen won't be with his KSU teammates, but he will be going as a 3-point artist and as a part of a senior all-star game.

Kansas State's Jacob Pullen has been named recipient of the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award that goes to college basketball's top senior, six-foot and under. The award came from the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

"We are proud to honor Jacob with the 2011 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

"The combination of his success on the court, and his achievements in the classroom as a student-athlete, make him a deserving recipient who exemplifies the qualities this award is designed to celebrate."

Pullen is the first K-State player to earn the accolade and the second consecutive Big 12 student-athlete, following last year's recipient Sherron Collins of Kansas.

The school's all-time leading scorer with 2,132 points, Pullen led the Wildcats in 12 statistical categories, including scoring (20.2 ppg.), double-figure scoring games (29), field goals (191), 3-point field goals (74), free throws (170), assists (115), steals (49) and minutes (32.6 mpg.).

He has been named to several All-American squads, including the third team by The Associated Press, The Sporting News and Yahoo! Sports and fourth team by FOXSports.com.


Pullen will be at this weekend's Final Four in Houston, Texas, as a participant in the Reese's College All-Star Game and the State Farm 3-Point Championships.

The 3-point contest is Thursday at 8 on ESPN2 at Hofheinz Pavilion on the University of Houston campus.

The All-Star game will be played on Friday at 4:35 and will be televised on TruTV. The contestants for the event are selected by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC).

Pullen will play for the East All-Stars on a roster that also includes Lavoy Allen (Temple), Jimmy Butler (Marquette), Mike Davis (Illinois), Austin Freeman (Georgetown), Dwight Hardy (St. John's), Gary McGhee (Pittsburgh), Vlad Moldoveanu (American), Brad Wanamaker (Pittsburgh) and Chris Warren (Ole Miss). The group will be coached by former Duke head coach Bill Foster and current American coach Jeff Jones.

They will play the West All-Stars, which includes Andrew Goudelock (College of Charleston), Kenneth Faried (Morehead State), Gary Johnson (Texas), Cameron Jones (Northern Arizona), Kalin Lucas (Michigan State), Mickey McConnell (St. Mary's), Alex Stephenson (USC), Malcolm Thomas (San Diego State), Tristan Thompson (North Texas) and Tai Wesley (Utah State).

Purple Pride Top Stories