Ohlde Named Candidate for Senior CLASS Award

K-State senior center Nicole Ohlde named to another post-season award watch list.

Kansas State's Nicole Ohlde was recently named a candidate for the 2003-04 Bayer Advantage Senior CLASS Award presented annually to the top senior male and female NCAA Division I Player of the Year.

The award was launched during the 2001-02 season in response to the recent trend of college basketball players leaving school early to turn professional. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award was developed to honor seniors for completing their collegiate athletic eligibility.

The inaugural award winners were Maryland's Juan Dixon and Connecticut's Sue Bird in 2001-02, followed last year by Xavier's David West and Mississippi State's LaToya Thomas. Both the men's and women's roster of candidates includes several preseason All-Americans.

In early February, a national media committee that covers Division I college basketball will select 10 finalists from the list of candidates. The names of these finalists will appear on  the official ballot during the national voting process in March. The selection of the men's and women's award winner will be based on the cumulative ballots of the national media committee, college basketball coaches and nationwide fan balloting.

The female winner will be announced during the NCAA Women's Final Four in New Orleans. At the same time, first team and second team All-Senior All-America teams will be announced based on results from the balloting. The winners will be presented with their awards during the CLASS Tribute Gala hosted by the Pride of Kansas City Foundation on April 30, three weeks following both Final Fours.

Purple Pride Top Stories