Ohlde named Big 12 Player of the Year

12 Conference Player of the Year, highlighting the league's announcement of the 2004 All-Big 12 Conference Women's Basketball Team voted on by the conference's head coaches Friday.

Ohlde, a 6-foot-5 center from Clay Center, Kan., helped lead nationally-ranked Kansas State (23-4, 14-2) to its first-ever conference title since the league's inception and school's first since 1987. K-State's all-time leading scorer (men's or women's) with 2,161 career points to date, she currently ranks second all-time in Big 12 history in career scoring. She is also the school's all-time leading rebounder with 970 rebounds to her credit, which is third-best in the Big 12 annals. Ohlde is the first K-State women's basketball player in school history to garner player of the year honors twice (2003, 2004) and is now a three-time All-Big 12 first team selection (2002, 2003, 2004).

During the regular season, Ohlde ranked fourth in the Big 12 in all-games scoring with 17.1 points per game and first in conference-only games with 19.0 points per game. She is a top finalist for the State Farm Wade Trophy, Naismith Award, inaugural John R. Wooden Award and Senior CLASS Award. She was recently named a Second Team Academic All-America selection and a member of the Academic All-Big 12 First Team. Her jersey was the first to be retired in school history on March 3.

Joining Ohlde on the All-Big 12 Conference first team were teammate Kendra Wecker, Texas' Stacy Stephens, Heather Schreiber and Jamie Carey; Colorado's Tera Bjorklund, Missouri's Evan Unrau, Texas A&M's Toccara Williams and Baylor's Sophia Young and Steffanie Blackmon. A two-time All-Big 12 first team selection (2003, 2004), Wecker averaged 17.0 ppg and 8.2 rpg this season and was selected twice as Big 12 Player of the Week.

The Wildcats had a total of four selections to the all-conference team including Laurie Koehn (second team) and Megan Mahoney (honorable mention).


Nicole Ohlde, Kansas State, F/C, 6-5, Sr., Clay Center, Kan.
Kendra Wecker, Kansas State, F, 5-11, Jr., Marysville, Kan.
Stacy Stephens, Texas, F, 6-1, Sr., Winnsboro, Texas
Tera Bjorklund, Colorado, C , 6-5, Sr., St. Peter, Minn.
Evan Unrau, Missouri, F, 6-1, Sr., Fort Collins, Colo.
Heather Schreiber, Texas, F, 6-2, Jr., Windthorst, Texas
Toccara Williams, Texas A&M, G, 5-9, Sr., Hollywood, Fla.
Sophia Young, Baylor, F, 6-1, So., St. Vincent, West Indies
Steffanie Blackmon, Baylor, C, 6-2, Jr., Dallas, Texas
Jamie Carey, Texas, G, 5-6, Jr., Thornton, Colo.

Erin Grant, Texas Tech, G, 5-8, So., Arlington, Texas
Dionnah Jackson, Oklahoma, G, 5-9, Jr., St. Louis, Mo.
Tiffany Jackson, Texas, F, 6-3, Fr., Dallas, Texas
Laurie Koehn, Kansas State, G, 5-8, Jr., Hesston, Kan.
Maria Villarroel, Oklahoma, G, 5-8, Sr., Margarita, Venezuela

Alesha Robertson, Texas Tech
Caton Hill, Oklahoma
Keasha Cannon-Johnson, Nebraska
Kate Fagan, Colorado
Megan Mahoney, Kansas State
Alexa Johnson, Nebraska
Stretch James, Missouri
Randie Wirt, Colorado
Anne O'Neil, Iowa State

BIG 12 COACH OF THE YEAR: Jody Conradt, Texas
BIG 12 PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Nicole Ohlde, Kansas State
BIG 12 NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Nina Stone, Oklahoma State
BIG 12 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Tiffany Jackson, Texas

Purple Pride Top Stories