Another post-season award for Nicole Ohlde

While K-State's Nicole Ohlde prepares for today's WNBA Draft, she continues to rake in post-season awards, the second annual "Award of Excellence." Ohlde is projected to be a top 10 pick today.

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. - Kansas State's Nicole Ohlde was recently named the recipient of the Second Annual Creamland Dairies Women's Collegiate Basketball Award of Excellence by the Albuquerque Convention and Visitors Bureau (ACVB) at an awards banquet held at the Albuquerque Marriott.

Belmont's Adam Mark was the men's recipient of the award. Other men's finalists included Alabama-Birmingham's Morris Finley and Tulsa's Jason Parker, while women's finalists included Louisville's Sara Nord and Harvard's Hana Peljto.

The most decorated player in Kansas State women's basketball history, Ohlde became the first player in school history to repeat as a prestigious Kodak/WBCA All-American and averaged 17.5 points, 6.7 rebounds, 3.8 assists and 1.7 blocks this past season. Ohlde is the only player in school history to post 2,000 points, 900 rebounds, 300 assists and 200 blocks in a career. The social science major and 6-foot-5 center is projected to be a top-10 WNBA Draft pick Saturday.

Jimmy Dykes, ESPN College Basketball Analyst, served as the master of ceremonies for the event. Every NCAA Division I school had the opportunity to nominate their top male and female student-athlete in their senior year of eligibility.

"We are honored to present this award to such outstanding student-athletes," ACVB President/CEO Dale Lockett said. "It was a tough process of elimination, because of the number of deserving student-athletes. But, these individuals are truly representative of the excellence on-and-off the court we were looking for when we created this award."

The Collegiate Basketball Award of Excellence honors college seniors for their athletic and academic achievement, as well as their community involvement. The award, in its second year, was first presented in Albuquerque at the conclusion of the 2002-03 college basketball season. Last year's winners were Florida's Matt Bonner, who was drafted by the NBA's Chicago Bulls, and IUPUI's Tiffany Kyser.

Purple Pride Top Stories