Michael Bishop Breaks Record

At 8:26 in the second quarter of the Grand Rapids Rampage's 71-65 win over the Los Angeles Avengers, Rampage quarterback Michael Bishop broke the Arena Football League's record for most rushing yards in a single-season on a seven-yard run and finished the season with 459 yards. When he broke the 14-year old record previously set by Major Harris (429 in 1991 with the Columbus Thunderbolts).

Head referee Perry Havener stopped the game and presented Bishop with the football in which he set the new league rushing standard.

Bishop was named the Offensive Player of the Game for the fourth time this season in the win over the Western Division champions.

The Rampage as a team also set a new AFL rushing standard with 766 yards on the ground, which surpassed the previous mark of 747 by the 1991 Columbus Thunderbolts.

In week two at Colorado, Bishop, the 1998 Heisman Trophy runner up, set the AFL single-game rushing mark and became the first player in league history to record a 100-yard rushing game (six rushes for 100 yards with 2 TDs). He finished the season with the fifth-most rushing careers in league history (81) and eighth most rushing TDs (17). Bishop also finished the year with 3,355 yards and 57 passing TDs.


1. Michael Bishop, Grand Rapids (2005) 459

2. Major Harris, Columbus (1991) 429

3. Bernard Hall, St. Louis (1996) 392

4. Dan Curran, New Orleans (2004) 372

5. Chad Dukes, Albany (1996 & 1997) 364


1. Grand Rapids Rampage, 2005 766

2. Columbus Thunderbolts, 1991 747

3. Milwaukee Mustangs, 1996 721

4. Orlando Predators, 1997 655

5. Tampa Bay Storm, 1991 612

Purple Pride Top Stories